Spartan Training and such

I want to finish this. I want to train for my three Spartan Races in August and lose the last 10 lbs. So here’s what’s going to happen I’m going to eat well, do one last cleanse (to get rid of the rest of my Purium stuff) and keep working on upper body strength. One of my favorite tricks to eating well is good, low calorie salad dressings. So one that I’m currently in love with is the Smoked Paprika Salad dressing.

  • 1/2 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 tablespoon stone-ground mustard
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 tsps Smoked Paprika
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 2 Tbsp chopped onion (didn’t have any, used dried minced onions)
  • 1/4 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 c. olive oil

Mix together and blend well. I mean really well or it will break apart and you’ll have to shake it. Not that that’s bad, but it’s nicer when it stays together forever. I’m not sure what the shelf life is for this, so just keep an eye on it.

 

In other news, I graduated with my masters in Education this last weekend.

Congrats to all of the graduates out there!

So it was a bit of an indulgent weekend. We ate North End pastries and pasta, Panera bread, brunch, and lots of Pinkberry.

Yay graduation!

Yay graduation!

IMG_0912 IMG_0859 IMG_0874 IMG_0888

As for my workouts, I’ve been doing assisted pull ups with rubberbands. I was doing pull ups on an assisted pull up machine, but I decided the rubberband makes me work a little bit more because I can be comfortable on the machine but not pushing it. I’ve recently switched up my arm workout from:

  • 3×15 15lb Bicep Curl, Tricep Extension, Hammer Curl, Tricep KickBack
  • 3×15 Assisted Tricep Dip
  • 3×15 Assisted Pull up
  • 3 x15 on each side Bicep Curl and Tricep Kick back in Plank

I’m doing Kelly Ripa’s Arm workout as seen on Fitsugar (I use 10lb weights to push it) but I also throw in a couple of the above variations to keep pushing myself. Half Marathon this weekend, then cleansing, then more family comes to town! Training, eating well, and happiness: getting it all!

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

