French Dips and Oreo snacks

I love a good sandwich or sandwich wrap. I learned that my crockpot chicken, lettuce, hummus, and chipotle mayo is amazing. LIKE AH-MAZE-ING. There are so many flavors going on and textures. Oh it was glorious. But I love me a good French Dip sandwich. But the last couple of times I’ve seen it on a menu there is always something else I want more. So why not make it at home? Out came my handy dandy crock pot.

A few things I did wrong in this recipe. I wanted a chuck roast with bone in because of the Au Jus. I thought it would add flavor, but I couldn’t find it in the grocery store, so I had to use rump roast. On top of that, so I forgot to pick up the beer. But I didn’t have any (duh, you don’t drink alcohol stupid.). However, on occasion my friends occasionally leave their beer here. It was a Pilsner which to my knowledge is kind of light and I read dark probably would have been better. Which is why my broth was slightly bland. I added a pinch of salt before serving and it perked right up.

So the meat came out a little dry so I’d lower the time to 6.5 hours. But as you’re dipping it into a bowl of juice, it’s really not that bad. I added a little chipotle mayo to the sandwich and OHMYGOD, HOW, WHAT AND HOW. Tastes so good. I was worried that the flavors would kind of battle it out but it’s really quite good. It gives it the kick that it needs, a little extra fatty content, and just enough variation to mix up a delicious sandwich.

I don’t know what I was thinking, but I’m glad I was thinking it. I wanted to make oreos because I love them so much. Perhaps I was too lazy to go to the store, but this seems like a poor way to make up for laziness. Keep in mind before you make them, unlike I did, that it takes a decent amount of time. You need to mix the batter, let it sit in the fridge, roll the dough, then let it sit again. I figured you know, hour in the fridge is probably the same as 20 minutes in the freezer. It’s not. But eventually I baked the cookies into the odd little shapes they were frozen in, but not the sweet little round ones that Bakerella, Joanne Chang, or Nabisco does. It was just kind of thick and cookie like. I suggest following the recipe word for word. The freezer might help in the last 10 minutes of refrigeration because it’ll cut better and thinner, more oreo like if you will.

With real oreos I crushed them and put them into a chocolate chip cookie batter. I saw it on Pinterest, which inspires some really bad ideas sometimes. Great ideas. But bad ideas. Great bad ideas. Either way these cookies were very good and very addicting. I grabbed one in the middle of the workout instead of a sip of water. They were really close together though, so you can understand why I had my confusion… It also gave me a place to use some oreos that I made that crumbled under pressure. The frosting, however, will melt while you’re baking these cookies. But the regular oreos don’t melt. So take it for what you will.

French Dip

Ingredients

  • 4 lbs. Rump Roast (Ideally Chuck Roast)
  • 1 (10.5 oz) beef broth
  • 1 (10.5 oz) condensed French Onion Soup
  • 1 (12 fl oz) bottle beer DARK BEER
  • Provolone Cheese
  • Rolls

Directions

  1. Trim excess fat from the rump roast, and place in a slow cooker.
  2. Add the beef broth, onion soup and beer. Cook on Low setting for 7 hours.
  3. Brown Rolls in oven or on skillet if you desire
  4. Top sandwich with Provolone Cheese

Homemade Oreo Cookies (Originally from Bakerella, Via Flour Cookbook from Chronicle Books)

  • 1 cup (2 sticks/228 grams) unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled
  • 3/4 cup (150 grams) sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup (200 grams) semisweet chocolate chips, melted and slightly cooled
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 cups (210 grams) unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup (90 grams) Dutch-processed cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda

Filling

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick/114 grams) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 2/3 (230 grams) confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • Pinch of kosher salt
  • Food color, optional
  1. In a medium bowl, whisk together the butter and sugar until well combined. Whisk in the vanilla and chocolate. Whisk in the egg until combined.
  2. In another bowl, whisk flour, cocoa, salt and soda until combined. Stir flour mixture into the chocolate mixture. Mix with your hands if it helps to combine the two. Let the dough sit for an hour to firm up.
  3. Transfer the dough to a sheet of wax paper. Shape into a log about 2 1/2 inches in diameter. Place log along the edge of wax paper and roll. Shape as you roll to maintain a smooth cylinder. Twist ends of paper to secure and help keep the shape compact. Refrigerate at least two hours or until firm. If log settles and flattens on one side, rotate every 15 minutes or so to maintain a round shape.
  4. Heat oven to 325 degrees and line baking sheet with parchment paper.
  5. Cut dough in quarter inch thick slices and place on prepared baking sheet. Bake for about 20 minutes or until cookies are firm to the touch. Note: I under baked mine (almost half the time) and they were still great. Just watch them because it’s hard to tell by looks if they are done since they are so dark to begin with. These baked in batches well, so bake a few to test if you have time. And if your cookies are smaller, adjust the baking time.
  6. Cool and prepare the filling. In a mixer, beat the butter until smooth and creamy. Add sugar and vanilla and beat until smooth. Add milk and salt and continue beating until smooth again. Place about a tablespoon of filling on the bottom of one cookie and sandwich with a second. Repeat with remaining cookies and eat em up.

Oreo Chocolate Chip Cookie

Ingredients

  • 1 stick softened butter
  • 6 Tablespoons sugar
  • 6 Tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 ¼ cup flour
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 11 broken pieces Oreo Cookies
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.Cream butter, and sugars until well combined.Add egg and vanilla until mixed well.
  2. Place flour, baking soda and salt into a large bowl, stir to combine.Slowly add dry ingredients to wet ingredients then stir in oreos and chocolate chips until just combined.
  3. With a medium cookie scoop, scoop onto baking sheet.Bake for 10 minutes or until cooked, but still soft.Let cool on baking sheet for 3 minutes before transferring to cooling rack.
About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

