Crockpot Pot Roast and Other Things Keeping Me from My WordPress

I’ve been very busy. But I’ve decided I want to cook more. Recently I’ve been cooking a lot of things I know how to cook, easy to cook, and something I’m very familiar with. But my friend May cooks a new meal every night! I’m not quite that good. When I get home from work and class I just want to eat. I love to cook but I do it on Sunday and Tuesday (I don’t have class on Tuesdays) when I have time. So I used my chuck roast that I got from McKinnons in Davis Square. I have to say it’s the best butcher shop ever. I put all the ingredients together, put the chuck roast into the slow cooker before I went to bed, woke up and had amazing pot roast. I saved the juices from the pot roast. I made a roux with 1/4 c flour and 1/4 c. butter, put the juices in with a cup of milk (using 2% probably would have been a better idea than skim) and 1/2 c. water. Keep stirring with a whisk on med-high heat so that it reduces and thickens up. Delicious. I put it with a side of sliced baked potatoes. Another night I sided it with sweet potato fries. (I also made a garlic aioli to go with the sweet potato fries) Combine 3/4 c. light mayo, 3 cloves garlic, 2 tablespoons lemon juice, 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp fresh cracked pepper. I mixed it with an immersion blender because i”m lazy and I wanted to do it right. Let it sit for half an hour to an hour before serving.

I made lemon and key lime bars for Easter weekend. I was all about the spring colors that weekend. Dying for spring, less cold, less snow. I used those pre-squeezed lemon and lime juice, it makes it easier because I generally can’t get a cup of lemon juice from a couple of lemons. We went to Mr. Vietalian’s house for Easter. Since Easter is a big deal in a lot of Italian/Catholic households I wasn’t sure how this would go over. We had a large meal. Starting the first course with ravioli, salad, meatballs, and sausage. The second course we had ham, mashed potatoes two-ways, and vegetables. Then dessert. I think that my lemon bars went over okay. My oven is on the fritz still. So I baked it with time in the recipe. When I put the lemon mixture on top the crust broke off and floated to the top. It really does need to bake well. After I baked the lemon mix, LET THE THING SIT! It will firm up. When it came out it was all gooey. I let it sit for a day in the fridge and then covered it with powdered sugar. Came out nice.

Trader Joe’s makes this fabulous salad called the Harvest Chicken Salad. It had a hardboiled egg, chicken, green beans, corn, and a Dijon dressing. After buying 2 in a day I decided it was time to buy the ingredients for a mock Harvest Chicken Salad. I baked the chicken in 400 degrees for 20 minutes, just a little salt and pepper on top of it. Cut it up. Hard boiled the egg, this is the first time I hard boiled an egg. Combined everything on a plate then mixed it with the dijon dressing (mix 1/4c apple cider vinegar, 1/4 c. dijon Mustard, 1/4 c. EVOO, 2 tsp or to taste splenda). It’s really very good, easy and healthy.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Ingredients

  • 3 pounds beef chuck roast

  • 1/3 cup shoyu
  • 1 (1 ounce) package dry onion soup mix
  • 2 teaspoons freshly ground black pepper

Directions

  1. Pour the shoyu and dry onion soup mix into the slow cooker.
  2. Mix well. Place chuck roast into slow cooker.
  3. Add water until the top 1/2 inch of the roast is not covered.
  4. Add the fresh ground pepper over the top.
  5. Cook on low for 8 hours

Lemon and Key Lime Bars

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 c lemon or key lime juice

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. Blend together softened butter, 2 cups flour and 1/2 cup sugar. Press into the bottom of an ungreased 9×13 inch pan.
  3. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes in the preheated oven, or until firm and golden. In another bowl, whisk together the remaining 1 1/2 cups sugar and 1/4 cup flour. Whisk in the eggs and lemon juice. Pour over the baked crust.
  4. Bake for an additional 20 minutes in the preheated oven. The bars will firm up as they cool.
About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

