I’m Finding this So Interesting

I’m finding my new Polar Heart Rate Monitor so interesting. Now when I’m working out I’m looking down every so often to see where my heart rate is. But as distracting as it is, I’m loving how personal it makes my workout. Taking in my age, sex, weight, and heart rate it more accurately determines how many calories I burn during Insanity or during a run. The snow is ruining my outside running, but I’ve been running on the treadmill. The treadmills at Planet fitness actually have a Polar transmitter as well so I don’t always have to be looking down at my wrist to see my heart rate. And what the treadmill has been saying that I burn and what I really burn are entirely different. In fact, when my HRM says that I burned 30 calories, the treadmill says I burned 70. That’s more than double what I actually burned. So then I would compensate and justify me eating other foods that I probably shouldn’t be eating. But what if your HRM is wrong? I thought about that too. But giving myself an actual deficit of calories isn’t necessarily a bad thing.

I’m also enjoying that the HRM determines what a good zone for my heart to be at during exercise is. For me it’s 128-167. I try to keep it at 150-155, I have been known to push it into the 160s and 180s. But I try to keep it in the zone because it makes optimal fat burn and weight loss. Above the given zone can strain your body if you push it too hard for too long, below it you’re not pushing your body hard enough. The HRM even beeps at me when I do one or the other. And believe me I can push or back off to avoid the annoying beeping sound. Overall, I’m so in love. All I have to do is start eating better to match and I’m more than ready for spring.

Image

The strap usually starts higher up, but as I do the deep breathing and all the other exercises. It slips. I just tightened it and that problem was fixed right up.

 

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

