So where does one start. I’ve been doing a lot of weird cooking. Remember that time I failed at making chex mix? Well I still have cereal left over from that time. So I have plain cheerios…and why would anyone eat plain cheerios? They’re so boring. So I put marshmallows and butter into a pan, poured it over the dry cheerios and made cheerio crispy treats. I’m not so good at coating everything equally but we can work on that next time I have a different cereal I need to get rid of.

I went to When Pigs Fly. Turns out it’s a dollar less there for a full loaf of sourdough than it is for half a loaf at my grocery store. But it’s also not as convenient. I got sidetracked and got a triple chocolate salted caramel cookie. Best thing I’ve eaten recently. It was amazing. I also bought their salad dressing bread dip. It was good, a little overpowering. Herbs and lemon, straight up. It needs something else and I’ll determine what that is later.

I was on a home food kick recently, so I wanted shoyu chicken. However, there’s still that issue with my oven. So I made crock pot shoyu chicken. Mr. Vitalian loved it, but he hasn’t had shoyu chicken before. I wanted more shoyu on the chicken so I would suggest using less chicken. I did like that I browned the chicken before. I might also not use cilantro I don’t likey cilantro. Everything else was pretty good. I think just less chicken would bring out the flavor. It’s still in the fridge and leaving it in the sauce for now is probably only a good thing. I served it with mash since Mr. Vitalian isn’t too fond of rice. But it was a good first try. I’ll try again soon, but I’m pretty over with Asian food right now.

And today, I don’t even know how any of this happened. I was using the hand mixer to make sourdough bread. So here’s the thing about sourdough, you need to make a starter which is 2 c. warm water, 2 c. flour, and 1.5 tsp of active yeast and let it sit for a week or LONGER. Make sure you mix it well. And like I was saying, I was using the handmixer and the chord got caught in the mixer so I tried to pull it out. But I didn’t turn it off first, so my fingers got pulled in while the mixer was still going. It started heating because it couldn’t mix around my fingers. I finally got the mixer off. I’m fine. I held an ice pack for a little while. And I should be fine. But it hurt like nobody’s business.

So I mixed all of the ingredients like the recipe below said. My bread didn’t rise. I didn’t add as much flour as the first time I tried to make it because the biggest problem with it was there was too much dry flour not to mention instead of using bread flour I tried to use whole wheat. So much for being healthy. I waited for it to rise for an hour and it didn’t. I’m wondering if it’s still too cold for that and where does one put it so it’ll rise. I’m thinking of taking a class on sourdough bread because I tried once or twice now and it’s not working out yet.

Cheerio Treats

Ingredients

  • Cheerios
  • bag of mini marshmallows
  • 4 tbsp of butter

Directions

  1. Heat butter, marshmallows in a pot.
  2. Pour in Cheerios and stir until everything is evenly coated
  3. Coat 13×9 pan and press cheerio ix into pan with wax paper.

Shoyu Chicken Crockpot Style

  • 4-5 3-4 lb chicken thighs
  • 1/4 cup mirin
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3 cloves garlic, crushed and minced
  • 
1-inch piece ginger, crushed and minced
  • 1/2 cup chopped cilantro, leaves and stems
  1. Combine marinade ingredients. Pour over chicken. Marinate 4 hours in refrigerator.
  2. Place large skillet over high heat. Remove chicken from marinade (reserving all the marinade). Brown chicken well. Remove chicken to 5- to 6-quart slow-cooker.
  3. Add water to skillet and scrape up the browned bits at bottom of pan. Pour contents of skillet over chicken along with all the reserved marinade.
  4. Cook on low 4 to 5 hours or until cooked through. Turn pieces halfway through.
  5. To thicken sauce (optional): Remove chicken pieces and skim fat from liquid in baking pan or Crock-Pot. Thicken sauce on stove top using a slurry of 3 tablespoons cornstarch.

Sourdough Starter

  • 1.5 tsp active yeast
  • 2 c. all purpose flour
  • 2 c. water
  1. In large non-metallic bowl, mix together dry yeast, 2 cups warm water, and 2 cups all purpose flour and cover loosely.
  2. Leave in a warm place to ferment, 4 to 8 days. Depending on temperature and humidity of kitchen, times may vary. Place on cookie sheet in case of overflow. Check on occasionally.
  3. When mixture is bubbly and has a pleasant sour smell, it is ready to use. If mixture has a pink, orange, or any other strange color tinge to it, THROW IT OUT! and start over. Keep it in the refrigerator, covered until ready to bake.
  4. When you use starter to bake, always replace with equal amounts of a flour and water mixture with a pinch of sugar. So, if you remove 1 cup starter, replace with 1 cup water and 1 cup flour. Mix well and leave out on the counter until bubbly again, then refrigerate.

If a clear to light brown liquid has accumulated on top, don’t worry, this is an alcohol base liquid that occurs with fermentation. Just stir this back into the starter, the alcohol bakes off and that wonderful sourdough flavor remains! Sourdough starters improve with age, they used to be passed down generation to generation!

Sourdough Bread

Ingredients

  • 4.75 4 c. bread flour
  • 3 Tbsp white sugar
  • 2.5 tsp salt
  • 1.5 tsp active yeast
  • 1 c. warm milk
  • 2 tbsp margarine
  • 1.5-2 c. sourdough starter
  • 1 egg (egg wash)

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, combine 1 cup flour, sugar, salt, and dry yeast. Add milk and softened butter or margarine. Stir in starter. Mix in up to 3 3/4 cups flour gradually, you may need more depending on your climate.
  2. Turn dough out onto a floured surface, and knead for 8 to 10 minutes. Place in a greased bowl, turn once to oil surface, and cover. Allow to rise for 1 hour, or until doubled in volume.
  3. Punch down, and let rest 15 minutes. Shape into loaves. Place on a greased baking pan. Allow to rise for 1 hour, or until doubled.
  4. Brush egg wash over tops of loaves, and sprinkle with chopped onion.
  5. Bake at 375 degrees F (190 degrees C) for 30 minutes, or till done.
About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

