Beef Vegetable Crockpot Soup

There would have been pictures…But I ate them. So basically I was too hungry for pictures.

Two appliances I’m loving: my crockpot and my food processor.

I make a lot of creamy, yummy soups and I thought I should try something new, which also means, lets try something without chicken. So beef vegetable soup it is. Now, when I think of beef vegetable soup I think of Alphabet soup that I used to get when I was a kid. Don’t get me wrong, the stuff was delicious, but kindddaaa bad for you.

So I need to start reading these recipes better. Like I read them, think I got it, put it down, make the recipe, and then find out that I forgot something. This time I forgot to put the potatoes in when I threw everything into the crock pot. I used one real potato instead of a can of potatoes. Something about canned potatoes just doesn’t do it for me. It also creeps me out. Like surprisingly canned carrots creep me out. I’ve been trying to move away from canned food as I realized how much of the nutrients are drained out and how much it increases your sodium intake for the day. But I read a lot of the reviews for the recipe and it said fresh produce will increase the water in the soup, which I did not want. I added a few things, and again forgot a few things.

The next thing I forgot was the beef onion soup mixture. It adds the flavor as it turns out. I mean it had flavor but I was pouring salt in to get more of it. Then I realized what I forgot. So when I reheated the soup for dinner I put it on the stove top, mixed in the soup mix, and let it simmer until Mr. Vitalian came home.

I took the recipe as is, but next time I do it I’m going to try to firstly, REMEMBER all the ingredients. Secondly,use fresh ingredients.

I love sandwiches. As much as I would enjoy a chicken sandwich with some soup. That’s a lot of protein for one meal. So I went with a good old fashioned Grilled Cheese. I used sourdough bread, Havarti cheese, American cheese, and some spinach. It was delicious. Along side with the fixed soup and some chipotle mayo on the side. The chipotle mayo, well so the first time I tried to make it, I wanted to utilize the entire can of chipotle chili peppers in one sitting, so I tripled the recipe. AND IT WAS WAY TO SPICY AND THE BIGGEST MISTAKE EVER. That time I also tried to use Fat-free mayo because I already don’t particularly like mayo and adding to the fact that it’s not good for you doesn’t help its reputation with me. So I used light mayo this time, the 2 chili peppers it said, half a lime’s juice (then I broke my juicer, the handle snapped off), 2 cloves of garlic, 2 tsps of sugar, and 1/2 tsp of white vinegar. Food processed all of that into a nice mix and now I have a ton of chipotle mayo and a couple peppers and mayo to use for whatever else. I’m thinking of making more and keeping it at Mr. Vitalian’s how for the next time we have Quesadillas. Thank god I got it right this time because the last time it was inedible and I had to throw out a food processor and a half of chipotle mayo. 

Beef Vegetable Stew

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. cubed stew beef
  • 1 (15 oz) can green beans
  • 1 (15 oz) can sliced carrots
  • 1 (15 oz) can whole kernel corn
  • 2 (8 oz) can tomato sauce
  • 1 Russet potato, cubed
  • 1 (1.25 oz) beef and onion soup mix
  • 3/4 c. Beef Stock

Directions

  1. Place meat, corn, green beans, carrots, potatoes, tomato sauce, beef stock, soup mix, and salt and pepper to taste into the slow cooker; stir to combine
  2. Cook on low for 6 hours or more.

 

 

Chipotle Mayo

Ingredients

  • 3/4 c mayo (light or full calorie)
  • 2 Chipotle peppers in Adobo Sauce
  • 2 tsp white sugar
  • 1/2 tsp white vinegar
  • 1/2 lime’s juice
  • 2 cloves garlic

Put everything into a blender or food processor and mix thoroughly.

 

 

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

