NYC

I love going to NYC just to eat. I mean, lets be real, their restaurants rock. It’s actually a really hard decision of trying to figure out where to eat in NYC because there are JUST SO MANY PLACES!

Friday, we met up with Mr. Vietalian’s cousin in the Village. I’m so unfamiliar with the geography of NY but I’m getting better at it. Especially after looking at so many maps to figure out if I’m going in the right direction. We went to John’s Pizzaria. As the weirdo I am, I’m not a big fan of pizza. But I’ll eat it. I told them to get whatever they wanted and to not let my preferences hold them back. You have to see me eat a fully loaded pizza sometime. I can navigate around ham, peppers, mushrooms, onions, and anything else I don’t like like no other. This one wasn’t hard, the only thing I fully wouldn’t eat were the peppers. Being able to eat onions now is kind of cool. But this was our Friday. Concluded by a piece of Cheesecake in times square. I ran that morning I deserve that cake. My next goal for that area is going to The Big Gay Ice Cream Shop. We passed it walking from the village back up to our hotel.

So Saturday morning I woke up hungry. I quickly yelped nearby bagel places. Guys, I’m in NY, I’m eating a bagel even though it’s empty carbs. I found Pick a Bagel 2 streets down. I got a garlic bagel, which is not as overpowering as it sounds. Non fat cream cheese. I forget how they LOAD the bagels with cream cheese. One part bagel, two parts cream cheese. Thank god it was fat free, but I still scraped a lot of it off. I shared the bagel with Mr. Vietalian and then also shared a cup of yogurt and granola. This cup of granola had nothing on our Trader Joe Greek Yogurt and Low fat Trader Joe Granola.

For lunch, well so I wanted a cheap knock off bag. So we were down in Chinatown after about an hour of searching for my bag and random clothes shop I was crashing and getting very hungry. So we walked probably about a mile to BobWhite Lunch and Supper Counter. I’ve seen it on 24 in 24, where the guy on Food Network tries to eat in NYC for 24$, which is insane by the way. I spent more than that on one meal, mostly because there was 2 of us and we like our side orders and stuff. I also saw this place on Padma Lakshmi’s instagram, so I knew it had to be good. I wasn’t at all disappointed. One of our cheaper real meals in the city. I had the juicy fried chicken supper which comes with a side of slaw and a biscuit. I loved the chicken, it had a fantastic crunch but was so moist and well seasoned. Then the biscuit wasn’t dry as most biscuits are. That’s generally why I don’t like biscuits. Mr. Vietalian got a Buffalo Chicken Sandwich and a side of cheesy grits. Turns out I don’t like grits, but I tried it. TWICE. But he says it was the best grits he’s had in the Northeast, as he’s comparing it to grits he’s had in the south, I’d say that’s pretty damn good. One of the guy’s Andy, he owns it partially but the guy cooking in the back really owns it. They said it’s old Kansas recipes. They’re open 12-10pm, which seems weird to NYC but they are a little out of the way and it makes the neighborhood they’re in happy. It’s a small little restaurant so going at 1pm was good timing on our part. I can see how the prices, food, and overall company of this restaurant will bring in hoards of customers.

For dinner we met up with Mr. Vietalian’s friend and because we were indecisive we went to a restaurant called Mooncake Foods. It was Asian fusion. I enjoyed watching Mr. Vietalian’s friend try to eat short ribs. They were the ribs you’d use for Kalbi with the little round bones in it. He couldn’t figure out how to get the meat off the bone, I showed him. I popped one in my mouth and used my teeth to pull the meat free from the bone, but he didn’t like the scraping it would do to his teeth. You gotta do what you gotta do. I had a salad since I wasn’t so hungry since BobWhite’s. Honestly I can eat like it’s my job so that always impressive. I had a shrimp salad, I should have asked for the cilantro not in it. I’d be eating and run into a really bitter something here and there. The dressing all fell to the bottom but it was delicious. More stirring of the salad! Mr. Vietalian had fish tacos which he enjoyed. I think they were a little more Asian than he expected. The menu is interesting, it has some legit food. But when it says “heros” they mean banh mi, and that threw me of. Deciphering what they really meant was more of a task than I wanted it to be.

We were going to meet up with some friends, but we had some time to kill. I went with the boys to a Hookah Lounge, didn’t partake. But the entire time I was confused why there was Hookah in a Latin restaurant. I did my research Hookah has middle eastern/Indian roots, why were we in a Latin restaurant? Oh well, no skin off my nose.

We met up with my friends on 32nd street. It’s amazing the way I navigate. I actually just looked on Yelp but it took us to Korean Way! Hah, leave it to the Asian to find the one Asian street and not even know it. We went to Spot’s Dessert Bar, which is not a bar. I should have looked into it better. It was a big food court with really good looking restaurants though. Just looking at it satisfied my Asian fix. But I got a Yuzu Eskimo. I’m still unsure of how to classify yuzu, but it was like a citrus ice cream cheesecake with an oreo bottom. And a side of strawberry puree and chocolate bits. It wasn’t bad but I wanted to eat my Red Velvet cupcake. It scored high on the cupcake scale, but not the best I ever had. I need to look into my Yelp Searches better before I settle on a place. We then trekked our way to Rattle and Hum. Turned out to be a bit of a dive bar, packed of course, and loud. I mean my goal was to be able to hear Samm talk, but you know what. The atmosphere was one we were familiar with. So why not. Everyone just got drinks. We sat at a table that was made out of a barrel. I’m a big fan of bars like this, no muss no fuss.

Sunday morning I returned to Pick A Bagel, got us each our own garlic bagels and some sandwiches for the bus. Not a super eventful NYC trip, but every time I go to NYC I remember how much I hate Times Square, the people, the rain, and the noise. It’s a nice place to visit but I’m much more comfortable exactly where I am.

ImageImage

 

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

