There will be pictures…

But not right now.

So I’m still enjoying my new Crockpot. Some recipes are a hit or miss. I made a lemon chicken. What I love about doing meat in the slow cooker is all the juices that come out of the meat. I turn it into gravy. This time I was trying to turn it into a sauce to put on top whole wheat Penne pasta.

The recipe below has a great flavor. The wine and chicken broth really temper the lemon juice in a good way. Then the bouillon and chicken help to enhance it. I added broccoli to my end result (which was frozen or I would have just thrown it in the slow cooker half way through to soften it a bit). It’s not quite a piccata sauce, it’s less lemony than that. But it’s got a rich flavor, but lightness from all of the broths. I just wish it was less watery and more sauce like. Perhaps a little bit of cornstarch or flour will help me out with that next time I make it. And seriously I can’t get over turning on the slow cooker before I go to bed and waking up to some good eats in the morning. I think my next challenge will to make bread in the slow cooker. I hear that’s a thing.

 

Ingredients

  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 pack chicken bouillon
  • 2 lb chicken
  • 1 10 oz can of chicken broth
  • 1/2 c. white wine
  • 1 tsp dried parsley
  • 3 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp fresh ground pepper
  • 2-4 cloves garlic, smashed

Directions

  1. Season chicken with parsley, oregano, and pepper.
  2. Brown chicken if you like, but I just place it into the slow cooker.
  3. Mix the bouillon, white wine, chicken broth, and garlic well.
  4. Cook on high for 3 hours or on low for 6. I don’t know if it’s different but I did on low for 6
  5. Serve with potatoes, rice, or on top Penne (or whatever noodle you see fit). 
About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

