Falafel and Puppy Chow

Sorry about the long break guys. I was at home in Hawaii stuffing my face, but with stuff I’ve already told you guys about. Side note: I have no idea how to use WordPress’s revamped page.

Now that I’m back in Boston, I was watching the Phantom Gourmet, which is a food show kind of like Diners, Drive ins, and Dives but all in New England. Right down the street, like literally the street I live on, walk on every single day, there is a Falafel place called Amsterdam Falafelshop. It’s this cute little shop with pictures of Amsterdam everywhere. The owners fell in love with Amsterdam and decided to bring it back with them.

I got the regular pita which only costs a dollar more than the small one, but gives you 2 extra falafel balls. Then you crush the balls in the pita, put the sauce in the pita, and then put toppings from the toppings bar into the pita. They have pickled turnips, pickles, cucumbers and onions. There are other things that I don’t eat like eggplant, crunchy onions, humus, etc. I was a big fan of the garlic sauce. I found that the falafel had a little bit of a kick since I’m very sensitive to spice.

Falafel balls are deep fried balls made out of chick peas, fava beans, both along with spices. The sauce that goes with it is the tahini sauce. I thought that this yogurt based sauce really helped to cut down on the spice. Even though this is a middle eastern street food it was quite difficult for me to eat at all let alone with one hand. This is a vegetarian friendly meal for those of you that are. If you’re not, it’s also still yummy. My opinion on falafels? Well it’s good. It’s not necessarily something I would crave, but it’s good and I’d eat it if offered.

ImageImage

So today I made Puppy Chow, not just any type of Puppy Chow. FUNFETTI PUPPY CHOW. It’s a mix of funfetti mix, powdered sugar, sprinkles, and melted white chocolate.

Ingredients

  • 6 c. of rice chex
  • 12 oz White Chocolate (Wilton’s melting candy)
  • 1.5 c Funfetti Cake mix
  • .5 c Powdered Sugar
  • sprinkles

Directions

  1. Melt the white chocolate down to a runny consistency. I put it in a glass bowl, boiled some water, and did a double boiler in my crock pot. (make sure no water gets into the chocolate) You can also microwave it and melt it, but it made such a better consistency.
  2. Mix it with the 6 c. of rice chex, funfetti cake mix, and powdered sugar.
  3. Spread out on parchment paper and allow to set.

 

ImageImage

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

