New Year’s Resolutions and Quiche Follow Up

Quick follow up with my quiche. So it cooked and then we took it to grandma’s house, in which it was a little jiggly. Which is weird because it was totally solid when we were at home. Stuck it in the oven for another 10-15 minutes at 400 degrees. And it solidified. I would saute the onions before putting it in the pie pan. I just like softer onions and cooking that would provide that and make them feel less raw. But when all was said and done, it looked and tasted like quiche and that’s what matters. It was filling but light and I could even go for a run after.

So it’s that time of year again. Everyone makes their New Year’s Resolutions and many of us will forget in about a month. And it’s pretty much public knowledge that the top resolution is to lose weight.

Here’s what I’m doing to my resolutions mine is a little bit more of an umbrella resolution. My resolution this year is to be happy and healthy. So under that umbrella, is of course, to lose about 10-15 more pounds. For the first time in a long time, I am in a normal BMI for my height. BMI stands for Body Mass Index; it’s the ratio of height to weight. A normal BMI rating is 18.5-24.9, above 25 is overweight (Anything over 30 is obese), under 18 is underweight. And yes, people come up with a lot of excuses to as why they might not reach their BMI. He/she might be naturally skinny, have a fast metabolism, he/she might have a lot of muscle but short. So I don’t put an incredibly huge stock into BMI but it’s something to be aware of. So I want to lose a little bit more weight because it’ll be a normal weight for my height and it’s something I want for me.

Also under that umbrella, I want to be happy. Being happy means that I’m going to eat something that boosts my mood. I want a job because that will make me happy. I want to help people, it’ll help to give me fulfillment and satisfaction. In addition, this means keeping people around that are positive and make me happy, distancing myself from those that don’t. And on the other side of the coin, I’m going to try to be more positive about people. I keep saying I hate people. And I do to an extent but hopefully I’ll be able to let things that people do that irritate me go easier. But, you believe me, I won’t be Suzy Sunshine immediately. Then lastly, not being so hard on myself. I’m incredibly hard on myself when I mess up, on a dish I made, a test, a lesson plan, or something as small as making reservations somewhere. So I believe it’ll make me happier if I can let these things go.

And being healthy, I want to eat healthier and exercise just enough (not overdo it). Something I’ve read recently reminded me that you will have cheat days and days where you overdo it. That’s life. Get over it. I need to remind myself this constantly since I’m home and it’s the holidays. I read an article about why men lose more weight, one of the reasons is that they get over their failure and jump right back on that horse. Another reason is that they give into small indulgence. One of my downfalls is french fries, double negative, fried and carbo loaded. But I’ve realized when I crave a burger, I’m usually only craving french fries. So I’ll eat a salad but with a side of fries. Little changes to the diet, like incorporating more greens and less sugar, is something that your body can get used to. In addition with the little changes just the changes in outlook as stated earlier is just one way you can start off your new year and resolutions with a kick.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Year’s Resolutions and Quiche Follow Up

  1. May Liu says:

    Great New Years resolution! šŸ™‚ I love the way u look at “dieting” or simply making smarter choices!!! I need to learn to get over overeating days and not be so hard on myself.

Leave a Reply

