Happy New Year

As I prepare myself to eat that soup I hate tomorrow morning, Ozoni, a Japanese soup (very broth like) with mochi on the bottom, I’m cooking up some very unhealthy foods to end the year. Not to mention to accompany that Ozoni I’ll be making a spinach quiche. So my problems with quiche are just how much eggs are involved. In this one I’ll be making it requires Mayonnaise, which I don’t like. And Eggs, which I also don’t like.

So for tonight, I’m trying my hands at potato au gratin. I’m using tips from Cook Fresh magazine and a recipe from All Recipes. Cook Fresh suggests to do a simmer with low sodium chicken broth, half and half, heavy cream, or milk to help remove the starchiness. Then I topped the Au Gratin with a light topping of breadcrumbs mixed with cheddar and Parmesan cheese. They turned out really well, just like restaurant type Au Gratin. It was softy, a lovely crunch on the top from the breadcrumbs and the cheddar bubbling and setting.

For the Chicken Fried Chicken, here’s what I’m taking away. Wash the chicken with vinegar before you cook it. Or ideally marinade it in buttermilk for 4 hours or more before hand. Don’t be stingy with your eggs. Cut it into smaller pieces so it’s easier to turn and cooks faster. And I just figured this out, use a spatula to cook both sides of the chicken not tongs. It keeps the breading on better. So this came out much better than it usually does.

As for the quiche tomorrow, everything is prepped. I set the pie pan and made the mix. I’m keeping them separated until tomorrow morning, I’ll wake up and pour the mix in, Bake it for an hour and head out to Grandma’s to eat my icky yucky soup and hopefully yummy quiche.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Ingredients:

  • 4 Russet Potatoes, peeled (and simmered in 2 c. of low sodium chicken broth, half & half, milk, or heavy cream)
  • 1.5 1 c. or Cheddar cheese
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 c. milk
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 tbsp all purpose flour
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 1-0.5 c. Parmesan Cheese
  • 0.5 c. Seasoned breadcrumbs (optional)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Butter a 1 quart casserole dish.
  2. Layer 1/2 of the potatoes into bottom of the prepared casserole dish. Top with the onion slices, and add the remaining potatoes. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
  3. In a medium-size saucepan, melt butter over medium heat. Mix in the flour and salt, and stir constantly with a whisk for one minute. Stir in milk. Cook until mixture has thickened. Stir in cheese all at once, and continue stirring until melted, about 30 to 60 seconds. Pour cheese over the potatoes, top with breadcrumbs, and cover the dish with aluminum foil.
  4. Bake 1 1/2 hours in the preheated oven.

Spinach Cheddar Quiche

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 c light mayo
  • 1/2 c. low fat milk
  • 4 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 8 oz. Shredded low fat cheddar cheese
  • 10 oz frozen spinach
  • 1/4 c. chopped onion
  • 1 unbaked pie shell

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Line a cookie sheet with foil.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together mayonnaise and milk until smooth. Whisk in eggs. Layer spinach, cheese, and onion in pie shell, making several layers of each.
  3. Pour in egg mixture. Place quiche on prepared cookie sheet. Cover quiche with foil.
  4. Bake in preheated oven for 45 minutes. Remove cover, and bake 10 to 15 minutes, or until top is golden brown and filling is set.

 

 

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

