Follow Up: Baked French Toast and Garlic Monkey Bread

So I tried the baked french toast. Granted I don’t eat french toast very often. But it tasted very much like the one I had at Thortons in Boston. I was worried because when I looked at it, it had water on the bottom and it was bubbling, so was it soggy? No, not more than usual. It was nice and crisp on the side that was on the bottom side of the pan and softer on the side that had the apples on top. The instructions were a little unclear if it should be chunks or slices. Slices would probably be better.

For Christmas dinner with prime rib, I made a garlic monkey bread. Some people think the origins of “Monkey Bread” is that monkeys tend to pick things apart like you do this type of pull apart bread. It had rosemary, oregano, and minced garlic. I think next time, I will use garlic paste and mix it into the butter mix that I dipped the slices of biscuit, it will also help from some people getting chunks of garlic in their bread. The garlic monkey bread is very well seasoned and extremely easy to make, even the most beginner chefs will be able to make this bread and people will think you’re a pro. This serves as a good side dish and a good appetizer. My next venture is a banana foster monkey bread, but this makes a great savory side dish and what not. So try it out and show them how it’s done!

Garlic Monkey Bread

Ingredients

  • 2 teaspoons dried basil
  • 7 cloves garlic, crushed and chopped
  • 2 (10 ounce) cans refrigerated biscuit dough
  • 2 tsp dried parsley (optional)
  • 2 tsp rosemary
  • 1/2 c butter, melted
  • cooking spray

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Spray Bundt pan with cooking spray.
  2. In a bowl, mix together the melted butter, parsley, rosemary, basil, and garlic.
  3. Separate biscuits, cut in half, and dip each biscuit into the butter and herbs; place biscuits in a random pattern into the prepared pan. If there is any unused butter mixture, pour it over the biscuits.
  4. Bake in the preheated oven until the bread is browned and cooked through in the center, 15 to 20 minutes. Remove from oven, and invert the pan on a cutting board; the bread will fall out of the pan in one piece. Serve by pulling the bread apart into individual servings.
About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

