Christmas

So I know it’s super common for people to be very excited about Christmas. And I am. But I admit a lot of the Christmas luster has faded for me. But then I look at people like Mr. Vietalian and his family that get so excited and I’m so amazed by their enthusiasm. I’m pretty envious of it, in fact.

Today we had a very laid back dinner. Mom, dad, Grandma, aunty, and me. Mom and I made stew today. She does that thing where she’s like “Oh you know eyeball the way the stew looks and you’ll know it’s ready” but…that’s not helpful. So I watched and kind of tried to keep track of everything she did.

I also prepped a Baked Apple French Toast that gets to sit overnight until it’s ready to be baked tomorrow morning. I will do a follow up post with pictures and how it turned out. It actually seems like a lot of sugar when I was preparing it. So I’ll see what needs to be altered because I might be doing this again for New Years. During New Years we usually order some specialized Japanese food, but we didn’t this year. So I might be making this again which could easily serve my family and hopefully it’ll taste as good as the reviews were.

Beef stew, cooking

Beef stew, cooking

French Toast, layer the slices. And maybe don't use 6 apples.

French Toast, layer the slices. And maybe don’t use 6 apples.

Beef Stew Completed

Beef Stew Completed

Cornbread

Cornbread

Beef Stew

Ingredients

  • Chuck Beef (4-5 lbs) or stew beef.
  • 2 medium onions, sliced
  • 1 lb carrots
  • 1-2 lb potatoes
  • 2 (8 oz) tomato paste
  • Water
  • 2 Tbsp Hawaiian Salt (Kosher or sea salt)

Directions

  1. Cut chuck beef or stew meat into large-medium sized pieces (4-5 lbs)
  2. Put beef chunks in pot, cover until all beef is covered about an inch of water
  3. Bring to Boil add 2 tablespoons of Hawaiian salt
  4. Add onion slices, 2 cans of tomato paste
  5. Fill tomato paste cans with water and put into pot.
  6. Bring to a lesser boil, between simmer and boil for 3-4 hours. Stir occasionally.
  7. Add potatoes and carrots an hour before serving
  8. Serve with white rice.

Baked French Toast

Ingredients

  • 6 apples, sliced (I did sliced and chunks but I think sliced works better)
  • 1 lb french Bread
  • 1.5 c. skim milk
  • 1/3 c white sugar
  • 6 eggs
  • 1.5 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg (optional)
    For Sauce-it kind of tastes like a caramel sauce
  • 1/2 c white sugar
  • 1/4 c all purpose flour
  • 1/2 c butter, melted
  • 1/2 c brown sugar
  • 1/2 c skim milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Cut bread into 1 1/2 inch thick slices and place in a lightly greased 9×13 inch baking pan. In a large bowl, beat eggs with 1 1/2 cup skim milk, 1/3 cup white sugar, and 1 tablespoon vanilla. Pour egg mixture over bread slices.
  2. Arrange apple slices on top of bread. Sprinkle cinnamon, nutmeg, and 2 tablespoons white sugar over apples. (I didn’t do the 2 tbsp of sugar. I think it has enough in the sauce and in the french toast itself.) Cover, and refrigerate overnight.
  3. In the morning: Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  4. Bake toast in preheated oven until golden brown, about 1 hour.  Combine 1/2 cup white sugar, flour, and margarine. Stir in brown sugar, 1/2 cup skim milk, and 2 teaspoons vanilla in a small saucepan. Cook until thick. Serve French toast hot with warm sauce or with maple syrup.
About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

