Crockpot Adventures

It’s exactly what it sounds like, me going crazy and overboard over a crockpot. I’ve been hearing about crockpots for some time now. And coming home after a day out to a meal fully cooked sounds like a pretty good deal to me.

So for my chicken noodle soup. I added too much noodles because the ratio of frozen noodles to dried noodles threw me off. I don’t understand how I keep doing this but I’ll work on it. Everything else went okay. I had carrots, noodles, and chicken in there. They also suggested celery, but I don’t like celery so why add it? I’m trying to figure out if adding potato bits is too much. It tasted a little bland so I added more stock and broth. Basically I have a lot of stock just sitting around so I wanted to use up the bits I had already open.

My next adventure was the crock pot baked chicken. So I definitely want to repeat this recipe. It didn’t brown like I wanted it to, but I’ll figure out how to do that later. Parts of the chicken that were touching the stone bowl of the crock pot did brown but I need to do that more. The recipe actually called for balled foiled at the bottom of the pot but that’s kind of weird and a waste to me. So reviews said they used potatoes. Don’t cut them too small or they’ll get too mushy. I actually had to go in with a spoon and remove them before the chicken was done cooking. When I picked up the chicken there was so much juices in the pot, which I’m reserving for au jus or maybe a gravy. In addition, when I picked up the chicken the meat just started falling off the bone. I understand this is a good thing but I really wanted it whole. But it works out since I didn’t have to carve the chicken for my friends. I cooked it for about 8 hours and served it with the sides. Then for dessert a chocolate trifle just like my mommy makes.

Overall, calling it a successful first couple of attempts then will work on it some more later. Until then, happy cooking and happy eating.

IMG_0046IMG_0047IMG_0050IMG_0048IMG_0049

Chicken noodle Soup

Ingredients

  • 3-4 Skinless Chicken Breast
  • 6 3 c. water
  • 3 c. Reduced Sodium Chicken Broth
  • 1 packet Chicken boulion
  • 1/2 c. baby carrots, chopped
  • 1 med. onion, chopped
  • 1 (12oz) pack frozen egg noodles (I could only find dry.)

Directions

  1. Place chicken, water, onion and salt and pepper to taste into a slow cooker. Add celery if desired. Set temperature to low and cook for 6 to 8 hours.
  2. When chicken is tender, remove from the slow cooker and tear or chop into bite-sized pieces. Set aside in a small casserole dish to keep warm. Turn the slow cooker up to high heat and stir in the frozen egg noodles. Cook until noodles are tender then return the chicken pieces to the broth. Adjust seasonings to taste.

Crock pot Chicken

Ingredients

  • 3 lb whole uncooked chicken
  • 3 potatoes
  • bag of baby carrots
  • salt and pepper (I used sea salt)
  • rosemary
  • paprika

Directions

  1. Layer thin layer of potatoes and carrots on bottom of pot. Save rest for later
  2. Rinse the chicken, inside and out, under cold running water. Pat dry with paper towels. Season the chicken with the salt, pepper, rosemary and paprika, and place in the slow cooker.
  3. Place potatoes and carrots around the chicken.
  4. Set the slow cooker to High for 1 hour, then turn down to Low for about 8 to 10 hours, or until the chicken is no longer pink and the juices run clear.

 

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

