Halloween Cake Pops

Happy Halloween and 2ooth Post!

I’m getting back to making cake pops. I haven’t done it in almost a year. Whoa.

It’s not an easy job honestly and mine still come out funny sometimes. One of the hardest parts is not eating them right away. So I wait for one to break so I can eat the casualty, but only one out of 30 something broke. How is that even possible?

I follow the way Bakerella does her cake pops. I know that they make those fancy round baking things where you can just stick the lollipop stick in. But I think there’s something about doing it a harder way.

Bakerella says to crumble the cake until it’s all crumbs, mix in about half a tub of frosting (I’m currently still using store bought stuff just because the consistency matters, and from scratch it might not be the right consistency), roll into little balls, freeze for an hour or 2, then dip into candy melts.

This was my Halloween attempt. I wish I could do something really cool like animals or jack-o-lanterns, and I’m sure I could have. But I didn’t. Lazy. Also just picking up how to do them again, let’s not push it too hard. I made black and orange cake pops, alternating between having the top of the pop be orange or black and the bottom be the alternating color, doing different sides and just full one solid color pops. I’m making them because we have to bring in a treat because we’re presenting to our class today and it’s Halloween. Which is sad that I’m in class on Halloween, but I love baking and getting compliments. And these are so much easier to travel with than say full cupcakes with miles high of frosting, even if that is so delicious. But these are cute, small, and super duper sweet. So here we go! Happy Halloween.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

