Panera Bread Soup, Without Having to Go to Panera

So I love a good soup. And as it gets colder I want it more and more. So that combined with how much that all adds up to after a while and the high caloric intake of the soups I like, it becomes clear to me that I need a better way than going to Panera bread all the time.

I found this recipe online and altered it a bit. It called for half&half and I used fat free half&half. It came out still as thick as the soup is at Panera. Then I use fat free sharp cheddar. It comes out just as cheesy and rich but I cut calories wherever I can. I can’t stress this part enough, take a small spoon as the soup thickens up and TASTE YOUR SOUP!

And Panera tends to blend most of the ingredients, which I did the first time. But I decided I like some substance to my soups and blend only part of it. I leave chunks of broccoli and carrots in the soup so there’s a nice texture difference. But despite all of that, you can always have whole fat ingredients , which as we know makes food taste better. But I take what I can get.

Ingredients

  • 1/4 c. Butter, melted
  • 1/4 c. Flour (For Roux)
  • 1/2 Medium onion
  • 2 c. Fat free Half&Half
  • 2 c. Chicken Stock
  • 1/2 lb. Fresh Broccoli
  • 1 c. Carrots, Julienned
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 1/4 tsp. Nutmeg
  • 8 oz. Sharp Cheddar

Directions

 

  1. Saute onion in olive oil or butter, then set aside.
  2. Cook melted butter and flour to make a roux.
  3. Stir and add half&half.
  4. Add Chicken Stock, chopped broccoli, carrots, and onion.
  5. Cook on low for 20-25 minutes.
  6. Add salt and pepper
  7. Use Immersion blender to blend in cheese and chop broccoli and carrots (but don’t overdo it).
  8. Stir in Nutmeg and serve.

 

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

