Storm Food

My family got me thinking since they’ve all been texting and calling non-stop to figure out if I have enough supplies for that storm that’s coming in. While many people are more than willing to take their chances because “the storms never actually hit,” you know it’s those times that you’re most vulnerable. Since I’m a college student and a weird little cook I have the weirdest foods on my shelves. But some of the stuff that I’ve found that I’m stocking up for this storm:

  • Ramen (but, what if there’s no electricity to cook it? …Like I haven’t eaten raw ramen with the powder before.)
  • Pork N beans
  • Vienna Sausage
  • Spam
  • Rice (hoping for electricity)
  • Mac n Cheese
  • Fresh fruits and veggies (So we like our fruits and veggies to be chilled because it lasts longer, but ideally your fruit and veggies will last for a while not in the fridge, and by a while I mean at least like a week)

I think me and other Hawaii people will get along fine on most canned food, it’s kind of in our nature. Spam, corned beef hash, pork n beans, etc. I think I’m gonna do just fine. While I am one of the non-believers, I think that being prepared is always a plus. So I did my grocery shopping today, before a mad rush where other people that believe in preparedness start rushing off to the nearest Shaws. So good luck storm endurers.

 

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

