Bread, a real try

So I finally got my new mixer, this one has dough hooks, a standing holder, and a silver bowl that spins in the holder. It’s the cheap version of an actual standing mixer. An average standing mixer costs anywhere from 200-400$. Which is way too much for me to spend on a mixer. This one was about 75 (with shipping) and I can detach it to use it as a regular old hand mixer.

So I’m using this recipe from Jezebel.com. It’s supposedly somewhat easy for me to do. It can sit for 3 weeks in the fridge and use it at my leisure. So I don’t know if I was supposed to but I divided the dough in half. I wish that I had a bread pan, it would probably make this whole, baking bread thing easier. I just laid it on a cookie sheet like you probably would artisan bread.

Ingredients

  • 6.5 c. unbleached flour
  • 3 c. warm water
  • 1.5 tsp Active Dry Yeast
  • 1.5 tsp Salt.

Directions

  1. Measure out 3 c of warm water into bowl (or a resealable container). Mix with 1.5 tsp salt.
  2. Then combine 1.5 tsp yeast, until it bubbles. Let sit for a bit.
  3. Add in the 6.5 c. of flour (they said you can do it all at once), I did it cup by cup while the mixer was going.
  4. Mix until it’s thoroughly mixed and doughy looking.
  5. If you used a resealable container, put the top on lightly, not completely closed and let it sit for an hour or 2. I put a towel across the top of the bowl I’m using and will let it sit for a bit.
  6. At this point you can either put it in the fridge until you decide you’d like to use it. OR you can put it in a greased bread loaf pan or cookie sheet.
  7. Slash a line across the top, this apparently prevents the bread from breaking.
  8. Bake at 450° for 30-35 minutes.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

