Zippy’s Chili

So anyone that leaves Hawaii and loves their Zippy’s Chili misses that dearly when we move away for whatever reason. Sometimes we get it frozen and bring it back up with us or have family or Zippy’s mail it to us. But it’s a staple in many Hawaii people’s diets, it’s what we get our fundraiser tickets for, what you bring to potlucks when you don’t want to do work, and you know just whenever you want it.

I found many recipes online but many require some complicated stuff, “dutch oven or heavy bottom pot.” A lot of them say you need portuguese sausage. But one of the first things I learned when I came up here is that our Portuguese sausage is not the same as the ones up here. We have Hawaiian Portuguese sausage, the mainland has Linguica, Chourico, Morcela. I used Chorizo, a Spanish sausage with a coarsely chopped pork with pork fat that has a smokiness very like the one we’re used to.

One thing I do have to say that I enjoy is the fact that I get to control what’s in this Zippy’s Chili. Don’t get me wrong, I love me some good Zippy’s Chili, but I like my chili with a little bit less kidney beans, but more than none at all (because that’s spaghetti sauce).
So it still needs to reduce for another hour but it’s looking good. It tastes very much like Zippy’s Chili but I do understand the variation seeing as A) I forgot a bunch of ingredients B) I don’t have a bunch of ingredients available to me. But so far it tastes good. I need fries, hot dogs, and rice now.

I have a few changes for the recipe, mostly because of forgetfulness. I forgot to get the pepper and the celery. Took out the Ajinomoto because as much as I love some good MSG, it’s really really not good for you.

 

Zippy’s Chili Knockoff Recipe
Because I’m Chinese and like knockoffs.
Ingredients:
▪    1 lb lean ground beef
▪    1 Round onion, finely chopped
▪    1/4 lb ground diced (because I couldn’t find ground) Portuguese Sausage chorizo (because I can’t find Hawaiian Portuguese sausage)
▪    1 large can (15oz, but could probably be a little bigger because I don’t like too much beans) Red kidney beans, with the juice inside
▪    1 large can tomato sauce (1 lb or 29 oz)
    ▪    1/2 cup celery, chopped
    ▪    1/2 cup bell pepper, chopped
▪    3 4 tbsp real mayonnaise
▪    2-3 tsp red wine ( I don’t drink, wth do I do with the rest of the wine?)
▪    1 tsp powdered chicken bouillon
    ▪    1 bay leaf, crushed
▪    1.5-2 tsp chili powder
    ▪    1 tsp Ajinomoto (MSG)
▪    1/2 tsp sugar
▪    1/4 tsp dried oregano
▪    1/4 1 tsp grated ginger
▪    1 dash Worcestershire sauce
▪    1/2-1 pinch tsp paprika
▪    1/2 pinch tsp ground cumin
▪   Salt to taste (especially because I took out the MSG)
Instructions:
1.    Brown hamburger and chorizo halfway through, add onions. Cook until onions are turning translucent.
2.    Add all remaining ingredients. Simmer for 1+ hours.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Zippy’s Chili

  1. kalowena komeiji says:

    Hey, maybe you can sell that chili in Boston as a fund raiser to cover your college tuition! LOL!

Leave a Reply

