Losing Weight

October is Anti-Bullying Month. And in that respect I’m writing this. I’ve struggled with my weight all my life. I really hit my peak in my senior year of high school (It was like 200-210). But I also started exercising in high school. I’m not sure how if I’ve been really bullied about my weight, not to my face. But I know it’s a common thing for kids to tease one another about. And I figured out early in high school that the only person I need to be okay with is myself. I plan on telling all the kids I teach this, “The only person you really have live with your entire life is yourself, so you better make decisions you want to make and accept yourself for who you are.” It’s an incredibly difficult thing to understand and do at an early age.

Coming to college, I somehow dropped 30 pounds rather quickly, 10 the next semester and 10 after that. I’ve plateaued since then but have started to track what I eat, do turbofire, run more, and I’m back in Boston where I walk more. I feel healthier and more mobile. So health has become kind of a lifestyle for me.

I started using MyFitnessPal, an application on the phone (also website), that tracks my eating habits and exercise habits and determines how many calories I need a day to be healthy. The caloric intake equation I did for turbofire said I needed 500 calories a day, which is incredibly unhealthy. So There is a good chance I did the math wrong but I did it several times.  And while I can’t say I’ve been eating healthier I know what I’ve been eating it and tracking if it’s under my caloric intake for the day. There are of course, slip ups and days that I go over, but I try to make up for it. The point is to not obsess over it. It’s so easy to tell yourself, I worked out today I deserve that burger, ice cream, french fries, etc. By keeping your food log somewhat religiously you’ll learn to not overcompensate. And I’ve tried food logs before, but MyfitnessPal has so many users that input their foods there are few foods it doesn’t know. However, it doesn’t know the exercises of Turbofire, but you can input that yourself.

I’ve tried Turbofire before but not consistently. It’s week five and I’m going strong. It’s an interesting program. There’s a ton of typos in the CD packet and the handbook, but the workout program has been fun. The problem that I have is the stretching part. I’m not so good with stretching for over 10 minutes but one of the stretch sessions are 40 minutes long.

Coming back in full circle since September 25th I’ve lost 8 pounds. Secondly, as much as we don’t want to acknowledge it, the key to losing weight is eating right. I mean I’ve exercised harder before and kept the plateau, but I’ve broken it by eating healthier and tracking my food. So to keep yourself on a log is to keep yourself accountable for the foods you eat. Every hundred calories, two hundred calories you eat, you’ll know about and can account for. But I think the most important thing about weight loss is to do it healthily. Losing a ton of weight in a short time, juice diets, not eating, and only eating foods like celery, and other fad diets are not healthy at all. People put that weight back on, it doesn’t just stay off. But you want to do it healthily, moderate your food and choose better choices (cut the sugar, up the veggies, unfortunately less fried food). Best of luck in your endeavors.

 

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Losing Weight

  1. May Liu says:

    Reblogged this on THE DAILY MAYNIA and commented:
    MFP is so fun food stalking friends!!!!! But I haven’t lost much :-/

Leave a Reply

