Coming up!

I’ve gotten so many hits in the last 24 hours,  I’m so excited. Just an FYI, coming up in my blog posts will be several things. I’m going to try make Zippy’s Chili from scratch, so pay attention you guys on the mainland that have run out of your zippy’s supply. Then I have the Hungry Girl Cookbooks, which most of the dishes are under 500 calories. However, my gripe with it is that she doesn’t use real food, she uses stuff like “Liquid Substitute Fat Free egg,” like what is that? So I’m going to attempt to make her recipes using better ingredients and figure out the caloric intake.

Seeing as people have been all about my weight loss post, I just have a couple more things to say.

Eat Breakfast like a King, Lunch like a Prince, and Dinner like a Beggar

With that being said, it means don’t skip out on breakfast, even though I often do. I try to eat at least some fruit before I hit the gym. Lunch can also be a fairly high caloric meal because you have all afternoon to do stuff to work it off, like just walking around or an evening work out. But dinner should be kind of small because you eat, do some work and then go to sleep. There’s usually not a lot of activity between dinner and when you go to sleep. And I suggest don’t eat too close to bed time because then your food doesn’t digest in addition to the less movement thing.

Eat until you’re FULL, not until you’re stuffed.

So especially when I’m home or out with friends. I want to eat and eat and eat. But you shouldn’t eat until you feel like throwing up. Perhaps eat half your meal when you go out to eat and take the rest home as left overs. I for one, have the hardest time stopping myself from eating too much, but one word usually brings me back down, and that word is “dessert.” So moderation, it’s a hard skill, but know you’re not starving. Slow down and at least think about whether you really want to eat that next plate.

Try to Meet Your Caloric Intake for the Day.

I don’t always, and like I said I’ve been tracking it with MyFitnessPal. But when you skip meals and don’t eat, your body is convinced, NOW you’re starving. So your body stores it as fat. Many of use, myself SO INCLUDED, do not need more fat in our bodies. So let your body know that you are fine and don’t need the extra fat. Some people say eating 5 or 6 small meals a day works for them to lose weight. And when I say small, I mean small. Think rice bowl sized meals. NOTE: You should never, ever be under at least 1,200 calories. I want all of you, each and every one of you to be healthy and under 1,200 is just not healthy. I once had a friend that said she was going to do 600 calories a day, but that is not good. That’s starving your body.

Foods to Avoid:

  • High Sugar/Corn Syrup or Both
  • High sodium
  • White Carbs (whole wheat all the way baby)
  • Fried Foods
  • Take out, I find doing it yourself helps to know what you’re eating and what the other ingredients are (did you cook with trans fat? Olive Oil? MSG?)

Try to bake your food if you can.  Pan or stir fry if you must. AND DRINK WATER, try to drink less soda or diet soda. Just more water. So again, best of luck and stay tuned. I plan on doing some really fun stuff.

What I ate today:

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

