Key Lime Pie and Rolls

So these are 2 things I’ve never made before. Mr. Vitalian, I’m gonna start giving them names like Mr. Big from Sex in the City, has a penchant for Key Lime Pie and hasn’t really gotten any good ones in the city of Boston. So now that my oven is fixed he asked for one.

First, finding Key Limes was no easy task. So a key lime is first off, very small and yellow. The ones we see most commonly in the super markets are Persian limes and occasionally Mexican limes, but they are not key limes. Many people suggest a mix of that and lemon for a suitable substitution for key lime, because the limes in stores tend to be sweeter than key lime. I’m certain that key lime is only sold in certain super markets and is seasonal. But after hunting up and down the juice aisle I finally found Key Lime juice in that weird organic juice aisle. I’m told by several sources just go with the juice because you need about 20 limes for 3/4 c. of Key Lime Juice, which is how much my recipe needed by the way.

I actually made a little extra, going into about 1 cup of key lime juice, 3/4 c. sour cream, etc. So I could put a dollop into a silicone cupcake holder to try some without having to cut the pie. But I wanted to see how it tasted and whether it was as yummy as I wanted it to be. Key Lime Pie is actually incredibly fast and incredibly easy. But from my understanding the longer it sits in the fridge, the better it is. So make it the day before you need it and let it chill over night. Personally I liked it regardless. It had this tart sweet flavor. I gave Mr. Vitalian a cupcake pie and he tried to take my other 3 cupcake pies. So I’m taking that as a good sign. Just wait till he tries the big one.

I topped the pie with homemade whipped cream. I don’t really have a recipe for this one. From the leftover whipping cream from the pasta I made earlier in the week, about a cup of confectioner’s sugar, and stand there whipping it with a hand blender until the whipping cream starts to peak and hold a shape. That’s all I can tell you. Mr. Vitalian is very picky, very much like my sissy, about how sweet something is. Too much and they don’t like it. So I limited how much sugar went in and hoped it would just hold.

And so I’ve never made bread before but I mean there’s always a chance to try. So first off, don’t use a hand mixer with a weak motor. I think I killed mine a little bit. The dough starting creeping up and the metal mixing attachment broke in one place. I think it’s about time that guy went off to Good Will, he still works but looks like I need someone a little bit more durable. RIP.

So I mixed all the ingredients. It told me to activate the yeast in warm water, said it would foam when activated. Not sure if I did that right. But also keep in mind original recipe was for 3 dozen rolls…I don’t need 3 dozen rolls, so I cut it. And even though we like to think that just a simple cut of the recipe will suffice, sometimes it changes the consistency and entire end product. That also might be a factor. But so I followed directions, let it rise, mixed it by hand because it was killing my hand blender, also apparently you need dough hooks, which I do not have. But I have invested in a pseudo standing mixer, it like can detach and reattach for 70$ with dough hooks and what not. Plus I don’t have to stand there (e.g. see whipping cream problem above).

Baked the rolls for about 30 minutes, they do look like rolls. I did take them out at some point, brush the tops with parsley/garlic butter, and throw them back in the oven. The tops browned rather nicely. I turned the oven off and left them in there to darken a bit. They aren’t as light and fluffy as I expect them to be, but they’re also not hard as rock. I think the recipe needs some definite tweaking and more salt. They’re kind of tasteless but that’s where my parsley garlic butter comes in right? Oh well, so much for a first try. At the the Key Lime Pie turned out okay.

I’ve should have been exercising this entire time I wrote this post, but you know. You gotta do what you gotta do. Time to Turbo.

  • 1 (9 inch) prepared graham cracker crust (Buy that box of precrushed graham crackers, get 1/2 cup butter, melted and 1/4 c. sugar and mix it all together and press it into a pie pan. Stop being lazy, plus it tastes yummy.)
  • 3 cups sweetened condensed milk (honestly that’s a little less than 3 cans, I’m gonna find a way to supplement the extra condensed milk)
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 3/4 cup key lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon grated lime zest

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. In a medium bowl, combine condensed milk, sour cream, lime juice, and lime rind. Mix well and pour into graham cracker crust.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 5 to 8 minutes, until tiny pinhole bubbles burst on the surface of pie. DO NOT BROWN! Chill pie thoroughly before serving. Garnish with lime slices and whipped cream if desired.
About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

