Cauliflower Alfredo Sauce

Okay, so today’s earlier post was kind of a cop out. It was short and just about how much I love cookies, which I feel is a huge DUH.
So I’m trying to be good and healthy recently, of course, I don’t follow the rules all the time but in the last week I dropped 5 lbs.

I will be the FIRST to tell you that this sounds absolutely disgusting but I made a light Alfredo sauce using cauliflower. It’s actually not bad, I only had a few bites so far, but it’s not the worst thing I’ve ever eaten. Comforting, I know. But the texture is a little gritty because you puree the cauliflower very fine. Why does all the healthy food have a gritty thing to it? Like the whole wheat pasta.

I probably messed this up by adding the quarter of brie and the sausages. But the sausage is because…well because I like it. Secondly, I added broccoli for extra color. Lastly, the Brie (with the rind by the way) is to give it a little bit of cheesiness that might not have existed with out it. I also used freshly grated Parmesan and a little bit of the super grated stuff from the supermarket.

Upping my vegetable intake has never been my strong soon so this is pretty good for me. And since it’s light brie I’m not too worried about the calorie intake, looking at the big pot of sauce in front of me, it’s really not a large portion. Then you sprinkle breadcrumbs on top, I used season to help to add some flavor. From what I’ve had, it’s pretty good. If I decide otherwise later I’ll post an update! If not, I’m probably too busy eating.

Image

Original recipe: here by Chef John.
Everything Italicized is what I changed or added.

  • 3 cloves garlic, lightly super crushed
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 head cauliflower, cored and separated into florets
  • 3 (3 might even be too much, 2.5, let it reduce A LOT) cups water
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried Italian herb seasoning
  • 1/2 1/3 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 tsp Thyme
  • 1/2 tsp Basil
  • salt and freshly black pepper to taste
  • 1 (14 ounce) package whole wheat spaghetti
  • 1/2 cup fine (Seasoned) dried bread crumbs
  • 1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil (OPTIONAL, I didn’t use it)
  • 1/4 1/3 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese, plus extra for garnishing
  • freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced Didn’t use it but probably should have.
  • 1.75-2 oz Light Brie
  • 1 (12 oz) bag of frozen Broccoli
  • 1 (12 oz) Italian Chicken Sausage, cut and cooked

Directions

  1. Cook and stir garlic cloves and 2 tablespoons olive oil in a large pot over medium heat until lightly browned and fragrant, 2 to 3 minutes. Add cauliflower, water, Italian herbs, red pepper flakes, salt, and black pepper to taste. Bring water to a boil, cover, and cook until cauliflower is tender, about 10 minutes.
  2. Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Cook spaghetti in the boiling water, stirring occasionally until cooked through but firm to the bite, about 12 minutes. Drain and transfer to a large serving bowl.
  3. Meanwhile, combine bread crumbs, 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese, and 1 tablespoon olive oil in a skillet over medium heat; cook and stir until cheese has melted and mixture is browned, 2 to 3 minutes. Turn off heat, sprinkle with salt to taste, and mix in basil; set aside.
  4. In a separate pan, cook sausage
  5. Add cream to cauliflower mixture and puree in the pot with a stick blender until smooth and creamy. Stir in 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese until melted; season with freshly ground black pepper to taste. Add Broccoli and cooked sausage.
  6. Mix in lemon juice with spaghetti and stir in Alfredo sauce to coat pasta. Serve topped with a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese and the seasoned bread crumb mixture.
About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cauliflower Alfredo Sauce

  1. May Liu says:

    That looks so good! But so many ingredients………..

    • Yeah True story. But it’s like I just had that pasta party so I had a lot of it on hand already. I just needed the heavy whipping cream, cauliflower and brie. And then I just throw in random crap from the freezer, like broccoli and sausage

Leave a Reply

