Finally!

It’s been a while. Heck of a summer and what not. So I’m currently moving to a new apartment and I just went grocery shopping for the first time.

I picked up milk, potatoes, butter, romaine, chicken, apples and onions. These are kind of my essentials. I’d like to add chicken broth and olive oil to that list but that basket was getting heavy. I also might have that in my stuff in storage that I’m currently waiting for it to be dropped off. What types of things do you need in your pantry to cook on a regular basis?

My mom came to Boston which was a frustrating but good experience. We impressed my friend that we shop so fast. But mom in town means that I get to try different restaurants. We had Russell House Tavern in Harvard Square which is an older restaurant and gastropub (Wikipedia definition: a bar and restaurant that serves high-end beer and food) and Rowe’s Sea Grille on the Wharf.

Russell House Tavern was really nice. Dating back to mid-1800s, Russell House Tavern is quite old and a signature to Harvard Square. I ordered the “Roasted Crystal Valley Farm Chicken, Mashed Potatoes, Thyme-Roasted Carrots, Pan Drippings.” I love dishes that are served with the juices and pan drippings. I think it gives it a really good flavor. I like to reuse mine and make a gravy out of them but just serving it works really well too. While I wanted a chocolate dessert I wanted to go out of the comfort “Hey chocolate cake!” dessert stage and I got the “Stone fruit upside down cake,” the fruit of the day was nectarine, which isn’t my favorite. Served with a burnt sugar ice cream and pecan brittle. Not a fan of brittle but it provided a texture that was needed with the soft ice cream and soft cake. The ice cream actually had smokiness to it. It was burnt sugar but cold! It was restaurant week, however, I didn’t like anything on the special menu; fish and lamb are not my thing. But I have a new fondness for Prix Fixe menus because they know everything should work and everything is portioned in a good amount so you don’t overeat.
Write about Rowe’s Sea Grille later!

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

