Eat the Streets: Garlic

So for those of you that don’t know, Eat the Streets is when all the food trucks come to 555 South Street and cook under a certain theme. This month was garlic.

I was helping out with Life is Sweet, a branch of Cakeworks that specializes in Macaroons. I can’t say that I’ve worked in the food industry a lot. Or at all really. I know most of the ins and outs, but this was the first step. So for most of it I took money and at the end I boxed macaroons. It was really a team effort. Most of the customers were pretty friendly, the one that floored me was the one lady that brought back a mango macaroon because it didn’t taste like mango like she thought it would taste like. I’m not sure you can bring something back just because it doesn’t taste like what you thought it would. However, if there is something physically wrong with it, like it’s too undercooked, burnt, over-seasoned, and something that can be changed; all of those are acceptable reasons. But to say it doesn’t taste like mango does not strike me as one of those reasons. I’d just chalk that one up as a loss on my part and remember it later. But as good with customer service as they are, they gave her a new macaroon plus an extra chocolate one. I sincerely hope she doesn’t write an awful review.

As it is with Eat the Streets, I get horribly overwhelmed. I ran around for a while before just resigning to get a Momo burger for dinner. I did have french fries with a garlic aioli and a lilikoi mustard. It was a little strong on the mustard and not quite as balanced with the lilikoi. The fries, while a little too salty, had a great crunch to it. I did really enjoy them.

I also finally got to try Fairycakes, but not until the next day. I had their garlic cheesecake truffle. Unfortunately the sister’s boyfriend microwaved it. The garlic was crushed on the outside of a chocolate cheesecake truffle. So the first bite was overwhelmingly garlic, but perhaps if I didn’t take a small bite and just in one bite it would have melded together. And if it were to be colder like I think it would be a lovely mix fo the two flavors. Garlic is an iffy theme to work into dessert, it’s a very strong flavor and if it’s so overwhelming there needs to be the perfect balance. And it would seem while the trucks did their best but some seemed to be a hit or miss. Good job, food trucks!

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

