It’s been a while and I’ve been thinking

And that’s never good.

But what exactly is it about fast food that makes us want it so? Its cheapness? Its familiarity? The convenience? 

I was out on the Cape recently with my friends. And on our way out our male friends swung by the Wendys before coming to our friend’s house where they had to eat more. Then on the way back we swung by a Taco Bell as it was a fairly rare treat seeing as it was on our way home and we usually have to go out of the way for it. But Taco Bell isn’t exactly mexican food, how does one even describe Taco Bell? Mystery meat seasoned with mystery slices, a tortilla, cheese, sour cream and a sprinkling of lettuce. I haven’t had Taco Bell in years, like I’d probably say around my senior year of high school or freshman year of college. But it tasted exactly the same. It’s not overly greasy like some other fast food chains but I wouldn’t say it’s better. The nachos are thin, maybe tortilla chips, and a weird cheese sauce which is most definitely not made from cheese but I also can’t tell you what it is made out of. So surprises for my digestion I suppose.

In addition, what about the “Drive Through Diet?” Oh yeah, that’s a thing. That if you order from this specific part of the menu that you’ll lose weight by eating Taco Bell. Yep, sounds like they’re trying to do the Subway thing.

But fast food, really? Some kid that was at Arby’s found part of a finger in his sandwich because a worker cut her finger on the meat slicer. Did she just not realize that portion of her finger was missing? Where did that finger go?

I know when it comes to our food it’s really hard to get to the bottom of where it comes from, what’s in it and what exactly are we eating. I’m currently reading and have been reading for nearly a semester now Omnivore’s Dilemma, it’s quite a tough read for me to get through but in addition to it being tough I just haven’t had time until recently. So the labels aren’t necessarily true, organic is just a word, and if you want to be completely ethical you’ll have to research, like really research your food. And many people, myself included have priorities that overshadow the ethics of food. From price, convenience and any other excuse anyone can ever come up with, we don’t want to overthink our food. When we need food we get it. And sometimes, unfortunately-very unfortunately I might add, we simply don’t think about where it’s from. I promise to think about my food but I still might buy it regardless. 

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

