New Recipe Sunday

So I guess it would be safe to call today New Recipe Sunday, but don’t get your hopes up this will probably not be a weekly thing. After all, there is only so much free time a girl in college has.

So first, the gyoza. Oh hoho, I did it wrong. It called for ground chicken. Turns out I bought regular chicken (but don’t tell my mom) so instead of going back to the store like a normal person, I just cut it up really itty bitty and fine to make my own “ground chicken.”  And I will go on the record and say that it’s not at all the same, as most of you would have gathered, but I already did it and I wasn’t going to waste a pound of chicken.
Anyway….

Chicken Gyoza

Ingredients:

  • 1.5  2 c cabbage, thinly sliced and roughly chopped (A girl needs vegetables)
  • 1 lb ground chicken
  • 1-2 cloves garlic
  • 2 eggs, beaten, divided
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 tsp sesame oil
  • 2 TBSP green onions Okay, first off I don’t like green onions, so add them if you do. Secondly I’m not buying a stalk of green onions that I won’t use for 2 tablespoons. That’s wasteful
  • Oil for Frying
  • 1 Package gyoza wrappers
  • OPTIONAL, I did this because it sounded like fun. 1 c. Spinach
  1. Blanch cabbage (and spinach) in boiling water for a few seconds. Squeeze out excess water
  2. Add cabbage in a bowl along with chicken, garlic, one beaten egg, salt, pepper, sesame oil and green onions. Mix Well.
  3. Two alternatives here: Take a gyoza wrapper and sparingly brush the outside edges with a little beaten egg. Put a tablespoon of meat mixture and fold the wrapper so it looks like a half moon. Crimp the edges
  4. OR put the gyoza wrapper in the palm of your hand, line the edges with water, put a teaspoon of filling and crimp the edges.

    To crimp the edges I crimped both outside edges and worked my way in. More often than not stuff found its way out of the wrapper.

  5.  To cook, heat a pan with a lid. Add about a TBSP of oil, add in 8-10 gyoza, and fry one side until it starts to brown. Remember that this is fresh gyoza, not frozen so it WILL cook faster than frozen.
  6. Add about 1/4 c-1/2 c of water to pan and cover, let steam for 4-5 minutes.
  7. Remove lid and let cook for another minute or so until it crisps on one side. Serve with Dipping sauce.

For me, dipping Sauce is usually made with shoyu and vinegar to taste. But a more legitimate recipe is 1/4 c shoyu, 1/4 c (japanese rice vinegar if you have it but I’ve used white) vinegar, (optional 1 tsp sesame oil and 1 tsp sugar).

Then I made Caramel Salted Chocolate chip cookie bars. In retrospect I should have baked the bottom layer of cookie for like 5 minutes so I have a hard stable surface to put the caramel on top of. So my caramel came up to the top and kinda mushed on the top layer. I guess make sure you put the sea salt on top of the middle layer and let the caramel harden a little bit then put the top layer on.

Chocolate Chip Salted Caramel Cookie Bars

Yield: 16 cookie barsPrep Time: 15 minutesCook Time: 30 minutesTotal Time: 45 minutes

Chocolate chip cookie bars with a layer of salted caramel. These gooey sweet and salty cookie bars are pretty much perfection!

ingredients:

2 1/8 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
12 tablespoons butter, melted and cooled to room temperature
1 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 large egg yolk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups chocolate chips
10 ounces caramel candy squares, unwrapped
3 tablespoons heavy cream
Sea salt, for sprinkling over caramel and bars

directions:

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Spray a 2-quart baking pan (which is an 11 X 7 pan-I used a glass Pyrex dish) with nonstick cooking spray and set aside.2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, salt, and baking soda. Set aside.3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, mix the melted butter and sugars together until combined. Add the egg, egg yolk, and vanilla extract and mix until smooth. Slowly add the dry ingredients and mix on low, just until combined. Stir in the chocolate chips.4. In a large microwave safe bowl, combine the caramels and heavy cream. Microwave caramels on High until caramels are melted, stirring every 20 seconds. This will take about 2 minutes, depending on your microwave.5. Divide the cookie dough in half. Press half of the cookie dough into the prepared pan, smoothing the top with the spatula. Pour hot caramel over the cookie dough. Sprinkle caramel with sea salt. Drop spoonfuls of cookie dough over the caramel and spread dough with a spatula until the caramel is covered. Sprinkle the bars with additional sea salt.6.Bake cookie bars for 30 minutes or until the top of the bars are light golden brown and the edges start to pull away from the pan. Cool bars on a wire rack to room temperature. Cut bars into squares and serve.

 
About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

