Greek Yogurt, how Greek is it

Now that Greek Yogurt is becoming all the rage, so to speak, how Greek is it? I’m finding that since people ask me whether in Hawaii we just call Hawaiian Pizza, “pizza.” No. Hawaiian pizza is disgusting, pineapple and ham on one pizza, no thanks. So clearly not everything labeled Hawaiian is hawaiian. Emeril Lagasse has a his own brand of panko, which is Japanese. Personally I’d go with another brand.

Fact: Yogurt is made from bacteria. Sorry, germophobes. Yogurt is made by boiling milk, adding active yogurt cultures, keep it hot (near 100℉) for 6-10 hours, then strain it through a cheese cloth or coffee filter. So it’s possible to be able to do this at home, but for now I’ll stick to buying it in the store.

But how Greek is Greek Yogurt?

Definitely based in the Mediterranean area. Greek Yogurt is a less sweet version of yogurt, it provides probiotics (a dietary supplement, microorganisms that offer health benefits for the host) contains like all yogurt but a good amount of protein, calcium, riboflavin and Vitamins B6 and  B12. It’s a strained yogurt, like through a cheesecloth or some other filter. Greek Yogurt is lower in fat, and in some cases non fat, than say your everyday Yoplait (which has been undergoing some controversy ever since the Susan G. Komen vs. Planned Parenthood thing) yogurt. People use it for a substitute for regular yogurt or sour cream

Not just for eating by itself. It’s Greek yogurt because a lot Greek dishes will use it as a dipping sauce. But contrary to popular belief, it’s not just used for Greek food. It’s also used (not necessarily in the exact same form as the one we’re used to) but it’s also used in India, Pakistan, Mexico (it’s called jocoque), Denmark, Syria, etc.

I’ve been using it for smoothies with honey to give it that added sweetness that I find Greek Yogurt lacks. But it should be better for me than using regular yogurt and honey. It’s usually the texture that I dislike but seeing as it’s all blended up you can’t even tell.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

