Chinese Noodles

For shame for shame, I don’t know about you guys but there are just way too many different types of noodles that are listed on your average Chinese restaurant noodles, what’s the difference? I have no freakin idea. I know that Chinese invented noodles sometime in the Han Dynasty. But there’s lo mein, chow mein, yaka mein, etc. Then of these noodles there is “Hong Kong style” noodles, “Pan seared Hong Kong Style noodles” (which are my favorite, they’re still crispy with sauce on them which moisten them), “Taiwan style noodles,” “Shanghai style,” I’m sure there’s a style for every city in China, and if you’ve looked at a map recently there are quite a few of them.

Sashi and I went to Taiwan Cafe on Friday. I’m shamed to say that I looked up “Taiwan style” noodles on my phone before ordering. Taiwan style noodles are apparently “very thin long noodles, flat” and generally made of whole wheat (I know this sounds healthy, but it’s not. It’s covered in greasy sauce and occasionally fried). But it was delicious, it was in a soy sauce based sauce (redundant I know) with chicken and bean sprouts. He ordered the General Gao’s Chicken and Scallion pancakes. Both were very good, I don’t much care for scallions but he enjoyed them thoroughly. I think those dishes and our bowls of rice came up to about $25 so overall, not bad at all. I kind of want noodles as we…type? read? speak? You know what I mean.

Here is my understanding of the Basics, and when I say basics, I mean basics.

  • Egg Noodles-ones we’re most used to seeing, usually made from wheat (Other countries’ noodles use semolina, a byproduct of flour) and egg.
  • Fresh/Dry Rice Noodles-Fresh have a milky white color while dry is a little more translucent. Made from rice flour into large sheets that are cut to a desired thickness
  • Cellophane or Bean Noodles-made from mung beans, semi-transparent, good for dishes with a hearty sauce or seasoning, because they don’t have a super defined flavor.

So more in-depth, from my understanding (in other words, completely incomplete but at the same time, just from what I know)

  • Hong Kong style, seems to be a thinner type of noodle, when pan fried it’s crispy with sauce over it. Can be served in a soup or can be served with sauce on top.
  • Taiwan Style noodles, long, thin flat noodles, sauce over the top.
  • Shanghai noodles, looks incredibly similar to udon, made from wheat.

That’s all I got and it’s surprisingly hard to figure out what type of noodle is what. I guess it’s time for me to go to more Chinese restaurants.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

