And I’m back

Dear world,

I’m not dead. I was just dealing with a lot of finals. But now I’m back. I just returned from San Francisco. We had a lot of good food. I’ve been there before and my dad lived there for his college years so he has a lot of places he likes to eat. He took us to Sears Fine Food near Union Square for breakfast. I guess the trick to this restaurant is that the bigger your party the better the chances are that you’ll get seated. I had the waffles with whipped cream and strawberries, no maple syrup needed.

But of course we returned to In N Out because I always do when I’m in the west coast. So we went on the Wharf which almost seems like a waste because there are good restaurants down there we just didn’t choose to go to them.

The newest place we went to was Bluestem Brassiere which was also near Union Square. It’s American food, but at the same time it’s kind of weird. Bone Marrow, that’s right, Bone Marrow, was on the appetizer menu but they were out that night. But my cousin swears that it’s delicious. So it’s almost a shame that we didn’t try it but at the same time I’d be terrified to actually put that in my mouth. But I had chicken, mac and cheese, fries and potatoes. It was a carb heavy night. Followed up with a chocolate plate.

We also had Sakana, a Japanese restaurant near our hotel. It was pretty legit. I had karaage chicken, edamame, nigiri and katsu. It was all delicious and familiar. The waiter had a lot of tattoos and “Support Japan” wrist bands. But in addition it had a lot of Japanese workers which was nice instead of Chinese, Koran or Mexican workers. Not that I’m against that, but sometimes it’s difficult to leave your own cultural influences out when cooking from a different culture. But there are always exceptions. Everything was yummy.

And how San Francisco is famous for Sourdough bread, we ate at Boudin. The first thing I ate was the roast beef sandwich but when I bit in my jaw kind of dislocated because the bread was so hard. The next day I had a different sandwich but it was nearer to the morning so the bread wasn’t nearly as hard.

San Francisco has a lot of great places to eat. But it’s affected by how much you want to pay and what exactly you want. I had a great time.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

