Vegas, this will be long

So I had my Vegas Thanksgiving and oh my goodness the food.

First off I know what you’re wondering, did you have turkey on Thanksgiving? I did not. Alas we went to Cirque Du Soliel: Beatles, so we couldn’t really make a reservation and ended up going to the Cheesecake factory. I really try to avoid chains when I travel because we can get that anywhere. But since they don’t take reservations it just made life easier to get into in the mean time. I had the lemon herb chicken which was good, drowned in butter sauce. It was delicious. Then followed up by a tuxedo chocolate cheesecake. I’m not going to lie, I know that all the foods there are high in calories and it does make me cringe a little bit. But I will always stand by I’d rather be fat and happy then skinny and sad.

My highlight in the food was the local food I got to eat. At Aloha Specialties Restaurant, while the service was subpar, the food was decent. I had fried saimin, it had a little too much celery. And their wontons in the other saimin kind of fell apart really easy. But the service is the opposite of what their name. The cashier lady, didn’t even say anything to me. She just kind of glared, then I placed my order and she handed me a number. A simple, hostile transaction, the way I like em.

But Island Sushi was the best. Located in the Plaza hotel, this was like being at home. They had all the stuff I like to eat. I had a garlic chicken bowl and sushi. It’s not Mitsuba or Mistuken but it’s still good. It wasn’t dripping with sauce which is both good and bad. I ordered the bowl because I had the thought, oh well the bowl will be smaller. No not really. In addition I had maguro and ebi nigiri (which was delicious) and a California roll (delicious, but a little bit of a vinegar taste in the crab meat). So with everything I ordered I was actually very excited for my dessert which was the malasada sundae. It was so yummy, the warm malasada pieces which could have be crispier but it was delicious with the vanilla ice cream. There was also a strawberry sauce that I don’t really think added to the dish but it didn’t take away from it either. I think I’m just a chocolate person.
I keep meaning to go to Hash House A G0-Go but it keeps not happening.

 

TO BE CONTINUED…. (dun dun dun-dramatic)

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

