Honey, if you love me

Recently I’ve been eating a lot of honey. I put about a tablespoon or a little less into my morning smoothies since I buy frozen unsweetened strawberries to blend into it which sometimes gives it a sour bite.  But since smoothies have been my choice of post-workout drink, you gotta do what you gotta do.

There’s an article on CNN about the honey in the US. Drugstore honey (walgreens, cvs, etc) have no traces of pollen.  76% of grocery store brands of honey had no traces of pollen. But those from farmer’s markets and Trader Joes did have the expected amount of pollen. The pollen content is important because it helps people track where the honey came from and that it’s actually honey. If it doesn’t have traces of honey it might not be honey, it might have antibiotics you didn’t count on or be smuggled in from China (apparently according to the article).

So why do people eat honey? In addition to it being a natural sweetener someone recently told me that they eat honey because it helps with their allergies because of the pollen in it,

  • it’s also an antioxidant.
  • It boosts energy so apparently putting it into my morning smoothie is a good thing.
  •  And you can use it when you’re sick because it’s easy on the stomach and throat. It can actually kill bacteria that causes infections and helps to soothe inflammations.
  • You can also put honey on a burn from cooking and it insulates it, but it makes you sticky so maybe just some Neosporin.
About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

