Garlic Chicken with Gravy

So I bought a nice big pack of chicken at the store today. I used half to make chicken Katsu for later in the week but made a new garlic chicken recipe tonight. I made mashed potatoes to go with it, which this time I remembered to cut them up before I stuck them in the boiling water because A) whenever I don’t they don’t soften as quickly B) They don’t fit nicely under the potato masher. I started that before I did all my preparations for the chicken. I cut and seasoned the chicken while the butter melted in the pan. I cooked all of the chicken and the potatoes still weren’t done. Isn’t that the way it goes? One is always done before the other.
But that’s cool, it gave me time to do the gravy. I’m actually not huge on gravy but this gravy is so yummy. I was eating it plain for a little while. I was tasting as I go to make sure it was okay… I never realized it would be this easy to make. So I combined everything in the pan and set it to a low simmer. Finally the potatoes were done, so I took care of them and every once in a while stirred the gravy which thickened up really nicely. And basically that was my dinner tonight. Followed up by S’more Ben And Jerry’s.

Garlic Chicken
Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
  • 1 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 teaspoon seasoning salt
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder

Directions

  1. Melt butter in a large skillet over medium high heat.
  2. Add garlic to butter.
  3. Sprinkle Chicken with garlic and onion powder.
  4.  Add chicken. Saute about 10 to 15 minutes on each side, or until chicken is cooked through and juices run clear.KEEP EVERYTHING IN THE PAN!

Gravy!
Ingredients:

  • 3 Tbsp Butter
  • 3 Tbsp Flour
  • 1.5 C. Chicken Broth
  1. Keep the extra chicken juices and butter in the pan.
  2. Put the 3 Tbsp butter and flour in the pan, whisk together to make a roux.
  3. When roux is made slowly add 1.5 c. Chicken broth.
  4. Set stove to simmer so it can reduce
  5. And then you’re done!!! ROUX-pronounced ROO. 😀 (It’s fun to say)
About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Garlic Chicken with Gravy

  1. Kalowena says:

    Good job Mahina. Now you can make gravy for the rest of us! Woot woot!

Leave a Reply

