Continuing my cupcake tour: Cakeology

Boy, did I have some trouble finding Cakeology.

I went to go find Cakeology because I knew it was opening but it opened while I was home for the summer. So now that I’m finally came back I wanted to finally try some of the cupcakes from Victoria Donnelly, winner of Cupcake Wars.

But here’s the thing I don’t do the whole “street names thing.” I judge everything by eye and can’t give directions to save my life. So I’m walking into downtown through downtown crossing, no idea where I’m going. I’m finally in downtown when I realize “I think I’m in the wrong place.” Okay, so I head back to downtown crossing only to get misdirected because they closed the street to shoot that Ryan Reynolds movie. I walk down the street they direct me to and I see Sweet Cupcakes (which I don’t particularly like) and I freeze and scan the area. There’s Cakeology on the other side of the street. I could see Bruce the Panda on the window! Oh my goodness I was so excited.

I walk in and it’s such a cute atmosphere. Lots of purple. Frilly, lacy, pretty, it’s kind of like an urban tea time setting. Most of the cupcakes were gone since it was about 5 pm. But that’s okay.

I like to try the basic flavors first because if you can’t get the basic flavors right you can’t get more complicated flavors right. Oh boy were they right. It was fluffy and the frosting wasn’t too rich. The chocolate had these chocolate crunchy balls on the top that gave it a texture variance and I liked that a lot. The vanilla is garnished with a white chocolate shaving. I have pretty high standards for cupcakes and since Lyndells in the North End closed (I loved their cupcakes, luckily there’s one in Central) but I think I found my near to school cupcake fix. I wish I tried some of the more complicated flavors but I’ll save that for next time.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Continuing my cupcake tour: Cakeology

  1. Thanks so much for posting about us – glad to hear you enjoyed your cupcakes! Come back again soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

