Karaage Chicken

I decided to try to make my own karaage からあげ chicken. what makes karaage, karaage chicken is that you marinate it in a shoyu (soy sauce) marinade with garlic and ginger then you deep fry it in oil. The recipe I have tells me to mix it into a 1/4 c. flour and 3/4 c. corn starch.

My issue with this is that every time I put the chicken inside the oil the corn starch would break off and either sink to the bottom or the pan or float to the top. And it was pretty gross when I pulled out this excess brown gunk. Then the chicken burned a bit because I just moved into my kitchen and our burners can be temperamental. They get way hotter than they should be at level 9, so I figured out how to turn it up to heat the oil then bring it back down. It didn’t turn out like the picture but I think if I can get the corn starch from not sinking or floating off this should work like the picture, but it sure did taste good.

Karaage Chicken (from Hawaii’s Bento Box Cookbook)

1.5 lb of chicken (I used tenderloins)
1/4 c. Shoyu
1/4 tsp finely grated ginger (I probably used about 1/2 tsp-just because I had it)
2 large cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper (didn’t really use the salt or the pepper)
2 TBSP mirin
1/4 c flour mixed with 3/4 c. Cornstarch
Oil for frying
Lemon slice for garnish

  1. Cut chicken into bite sized pieces
  2. Combine shoyu, ginger, garlic, sugar, and mirin.
  3. Marinate chicken for at least and hour or over night.
  4. Drain chicken and lightly dust with cornstartch and flour mixture
  5. Deep-fry in oil until golden and cooked through
  6. Garnish with slice of lemon
About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

