HonkFest

Today I went to Honkfest out in Davis Sq. (Bear with me, this will come back to food) So it ends in Oktoberfest in Harvard Sq. There were so many people and so much food. A lot of it was expensive, but there were some good smells and sampling.

But what I actually bought was butter and jelly. What really intrigued me though was the Pumpkin Butter and Garlic Pepper Jelly. Say what? This is from Tyler’s Sweet Revenge and surprisingly enough, the strange flavors are delicious. The pumpkin butter is like pumpkin pie without the gelatin so it stays in its goopy form. It even seems to have all the spices of pumpkin pie. It’s delicious, it’s like dessert for breakfast. The garlic pepper jelly has a lot of sugar, but mixed with the spice of the pepper. It’s sweet with a kick. The only problem is that I haven’t quite figured out when I’ll use it. It’s good and I like it, but when am I going to use it? I can’t say that the garlic taste is really prominent but I’m also not sure that I’d want it to be, I think it would just confuse me more about when I would eat it. But hey, I bought the stuff, in retrospect I’m kicking myself for not buying some to send home.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

