Asian Fusion?

What exactly is Asian fusion? It’s food that has a mix of different Asian cultures. So I’ll go to a Japanese restaurant but be able to order Thai food. One of those places is right down the street and I went to it twice last week. Thelonious Monkfish, that is indeed its name and I love its name. They have little jazz jokes that aren’t very funny. My dad says Chinese people aren’t very funny, but these jokes are the type you laugh at to be polite. The owners and workers are from Thailand but they serve extremely fresh sushi. The food has to be Americanized to an extent so that the main population will enjoy the food. They also had Japanese noodles and curry. It was pretty good, it wasn’t as good as some real Japanese food that I’ve had recently. But I’m glad that there’s a sushi place within walking distance.

I also tried Wagamama. I’ve seen it around but never actually dared to eat there. Not to be a snob but I really didn’t want to eat at an Americanized Ramen shop. But my boyfriend and his mom was coming in from the airport and they wanted something to eat. I chose this place because it had a lot of vegetarian options as well as meat options. I ordered a beef miso ramen, the soup had a kick to it. I downed so much water after every spoonful. The waiter was almost non-existent here so my mouth was on fire for a while before they’d come around. It was a weird ramen, not like any ramen I’d had in a shop before. I think it’s more Americanized so it’s a fusion of American and Japanese food, but it wasn’t bad. It’s better than ramen in a packet but not as good as Porter Square.

So Asian fusion confuses me. I feel like there’s one Asian cuisine that the restaurant excels in more than the other and it takes time to figure out which one that is. And I’m more accustomed to Korean/Japanese or Japanese/Chinese, Thai/Japanese has been new to me. Good restaurants, you just need to tweak your palate to adjust your expectations.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

