Walk in the Country

I went to this event on Saturday called A Walk In the Country, a benefit for Hawaii’s Boys and Girls Club. There were a lot of vendors that catered the event; Poke Stop, Chai’s Island Bistro, Phuket Thai. It was all very good and very interesting. They did it Top Chef style where you have small plates with bite sized foods on them. Poke Stop provided poke, of course. But they also brought a deep fried spicy tuna roll and a chicken hash corn dog. The hash dog was very interesting, it was salty and had a chunkier texture than a regular hot dog. It was also complimented with a honey mustard sauce on the side. What I found interesting is the prawn and beet risotto. The risotto had so much cheese you really couldn’t tell what type of risotto it was. And the beet pieces on top tasted pickled, so sweeter. Prawns taste a little more like fish than shrimp do to me. I don’t particularly like that. They also left the head which freaks me out. So there was only so much I ate.

What I really enjoyed were the different cake pops and malasadas for dessert. Unfortunately they didn’t seem to know which flavor was each cake pop. The yellow one I had was a pineapple when I thought it would be a lilikoi or something. The red was guava when they said it’d be vanilla. But the silver I ate later was chocolate and it was delicious. The malasadas were freshly fried in the woks so they were crispy and hot. The sugar stuck well because they were little and some didn’t have middles which didn’t make that doughy inside I don’t like. Overall it was a good function with good food and all for a good cause.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

