Side Street Inn

Side Street Inn, Kapahulu, we usually go to the one near Ala Moana. Whichever one I go to I try to make sure that I always have reservations. They get packed and sometimes, okay, most times, I just hate waiting. Reservations just make me feel safe and I like that. This one is more of a restaurant type place and the other is a little bit more of a bar atmosphere. I like that, honestly the screaming children along with my migraine I could have done without (yeah yeah yeah, I know I shouldn’t have gone out with a migraine…but you know). I was expecting it to be like the other one so I didn’t expect the screaming.

We ordered our usuals; the boneless Kalbi, fried chicken, fried rice, and mushrooms. Then my boyfriend ordered the buffalo wings which we’ve never had. And then my sister ordered the crab and artichoke dip. I’m not a big fan of mushrooms, artichokes (or crab really), or spicy foods. The buffalo wings were extremely spicy and very salty as well. They were kind of hard to stomach.

There was very little I actually ate at this restaurant, but the foods I did eat, I’ve eaten before. The fried chicken was far blander than I remembered, they got the crispness of it right, that it crunched as I bit into it. But I needed to add ketchup or not have a tasty mouthful. I think condiments do enhance meals but I try not to use them if I can get around eating without using them then I will. Then it was prepared perfectly. The kalbi was the best part of our meal. It was delivered still sizzling, grilled perfectly, tender. One part of it that I had was extremely hard to eat (I had to let go with my teeth and pull it apart with my hands). I don’t know whether that was my bad or the meat they used.

Dessert is really what made my meal. Deep fried pound cake ala mode and Brownie sundae; it was delicious. It was really very rich. BUT so good. The pound cake melted away in your mouth. It was so warm, combined with the ice cream it made a fantastic mouthful. The brownie wasn’t made from a box mix, but it also wasn’t anything I couldn’t have made myself. I always hope that there will be a twist on the mundane to take it to a higher level. It was good, moist, chewy, chocolatey, but nothing too special.

The service, it was interesting. They thought we ordered the lilikoi creme brulee instead of the deep fried pound cake. After telling them once that wasn’t our order, another waitress came back with the same creme brulee like we changed our minds. Then checked a third time after that. No, we did not order the lilikoi creme brulee, we ordered the pound cake. The staff was pretty attentive, not overly, not underly, but just right. They made sure that we had food and drinks. I was with good friends so I’m glad they didn’t interrupt too much.

Everyone left relatively satisfied and full. Good company, decent food, but I think from now on we’ll be going to the Side Street Inn near Ala Moana. The original. Better food. Better atmosphere. I think I know where my loyalties lie.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

