Kuru Kuru Sushi

Like many people in Hawaii my sushi life sits with Genki sushi. It’s not the best, most authentic sushi out there, but it’s cheap and you can get a variety you want, not one that’s set for you.

Kuru Kuru Sushi opens at 11, we got there by 11:30 and were seated by 11:50. It’s a very small venue so the wait is pretty long so I just hope for the best. When we got in we were seated at the counter, usually I prefer a booth. The upsides of the counter is that everyone gets to grab their own food rather than asking for someone else to pass it to you down the bench.

So like Genki, Kuru Kuru charges you by how many plates of a certain color you have. Yellow being the cheapest, then red, green and I think blue. I’m not completely sure but I’m pretty sure that it’s cheaper than Genki Sushi. Conveyor belt sushi is extremely cost effective for those trying out sushi because you get to see what it is your eating before you pick it up. It’s part of the hardest part of eating a new food because you don’t know what it looks like before you grab it.

I didn’t eat all morning so I was starving. I was about to go get something else to eat if I didn’t get seated soon. But once we were seated I could eat whatever as all the colorful plates passed me by. They had some different choices than Genki, like some blue thing called Natzusuke (which turned out to be some type of eggplant) nigiri or the tempura green beans.

But I stuck with my old favorites of maguro nigiri, ebi nigiri, karaage chicken, croquette, and the new found favorite California rolls (which I carefully pushed out the avocado for texture and taste reasons). I was so full after all of that. Everything was really good. The California rolls though have a lot of rice. They’re the size of the shoyu plates and most of that is rice. The nigiri the sashimi on top is cut really big so you get a lot of meat for your rice. The karaage chicken was good but kind of flavorless. Some of the pieces I ate I swear did not even have chicken inside.

Even though Kuru kuru was a good experience I think the wait will keep me going back to Genki. Genki is a chain and has more places to eat so the wait is usually shorter, especially when they first open. I’m not against Kuru Kuru, I just find convenience a big decision factor of where I eat.

I would usually have pictures now, but as I said above, I was STARVING. I just wanted to eat.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

