Eat The Streets: Garlic

The last Friday of every month all of Hawaii’s food trucks gather to show off their culinary talents. This month’s theme was garlic.

The second you enter you can smell the garlic cooking around you; roasting, baking, being cooked every way imaginable (even including pickling). I was overwhelmed by the choices. I did my homework and looked up what would be there, but even when I did that I found that I didn’t know which food truck had what (I really should have written a list or something), I didn’t know which food trucks just had their specialty garlic items or just plain fancy items that they offer on a regular basis. I mean, c’mon, I don’t want to go to garlic fest and not eat garlic at all, even if something sounds delicious.

Simply Ono was a fun truck. They even had some Chocolate covered bacon since it was such a big hit during the last month’s Eat the Streets: Pork. But what really made me happy was that they had a sampler plate. It had seared ahi, seafood pasta (it was creamy and garlicy, good mix), a pickled garlic (sweet with a bite, interesting though) and a garlic infused musubi. The musubi wasn’t overly garlicy, you really had to try to taste the garlic they infused because it was such a subtle taste. I tried the seared ahi because I like the sashimi and because I don’t like cooked fish, the inside is still raw. It was too fishy, I don’t know why fish tastes less fishy raw but it was just an overwhelming bite of fish for me.

I also had the Fresh Roasted Corn. I bought the lilikoi butter and parmesan cheese and the garlic butter with herb seasoning. The garlic butter corn was really good. It was warm and soft, then the garlic with the sweet corn gave it that double sensation tha I love. However, for the lilikoi butter and Parmesan cheese, I couldn’t taste the lilikoi or the cheese very strong. I bought it because I didn’t know how it would work together but because I couldn’t taste it maybe it doesn’t work together?

My main complaint about Eat the Streets is how busy everything is. When we went to Chicago Eats, we got garlic pita bread and an Italian beef sub. The wait was about 40 minutes when they said 10-15. It was really busy and I understand that but that wait was grossly underestimated. My sister and her boyfriend had gone off to the car already and I thought, wow they’ve had wait a long time for us. When we finally got our food, everything was really good, worth the 40 minute wait? I’m not so sure about that. My sister liked it a lot. But to me it wasn’t anything incredibly fabulous. The lines were so unbelievable that I wanted to get a cupcake from Fairy Cakes (chocolate with garlic) but the line would have taken probably more than an hour. I also wanted to try one of the ice cream places that had garlic ice cream. But again, the lines. Crazy. I know that there’s absolutely nothing they can do about the lines, but I really hope that eventually there can be a better way to sort it all out. I was so excited to be there though. Next month is Turn Up the Heat, luckily enough for me I won’t be around for it because I can’t do spicy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

