Mariposa

The other day we went to Mariposa in Neiman Marcus for my Grandma’s birthday. The food is supposed to be great and I wasn’t let down. The service was excellent. I can’t imagine the pains of serving one meal there. Everyone caters to everything, the forks are changed periodically and the average customers probably expect a lot.

I guess it’s a new thing for them to print the calories in the dish next to it. It took the fun out of eating. I don’t particularly want to think about how many calories are in each dish I really want to order. Normally I’d order the rib eye steak, but it was well over 1,000 calories. So I settled with the Grilled Beef Tenderloin, with polenta and green beans.

They started us off with Monkey bread and strawberry butter. The monkey bread was buttery and flaky, it went well with the butter. Which led us to wonder why monkey bread is called monkey bread. My trusty phone at the table said that people don’t really know why. It might be because it reminds people of monkeys eating or the similarities to the African Monkey puzzle tree (an evergreen in Africa). Some say there are middle eastern roots. But nothing is definitive except in the end it’s pull apart bread.

When I got the Beef tenderloin, it was wonderfully plated. I’ve never eaten Polenta before but from my understanding it’s deep fried corn meal, much like a hush puppy. I didn’t care much for the grainy texture or the taste. There wasn’t much to it. The grilled beef tenderloin was very tender and tasty. It had a sauce that had a strong Worcestershire flavor that went with it, but it was flavorful enough with just a little bit of it. I was a bit jealous of my mom’s grilled potatoes, but I suppose that’s why the caloric intake was so much less.

For dessert I had the warm lilikoi cake. But the milk chocolate bars looked really good from across the table. The lilikoi cake was really good, it had a soft lilikoi pudding inside but still had the consistency of cake. There should have been a butterfly cookie at the top, which they were out of and that was fine. The only reason I can see this being a problem is for the texture differences that people like.

Overall, I had a fantastic meal, brought to us by fantastic people. The prices are high but I suppose it’s worth it. If I weren’t with my family, who pay for my meals, than this would be an entirely different experience because I wouldn’t be able to afford it. But it was fantastic overall.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

