Kill Your Own Food

The Kill your own food movement, apparently Mark Zuckerberg is really into it.  You have to be able to kill your own food and you know where your food is coming from.  This allows people to have to realize how much meat they’re eating and that every time you eat meat you take the life from an animal.

I suppose that’s a good technique, but not everyone has the luxury to kill their food.  Not that I would want to.  I mean I like to eat meat but I wouldn’t want to do that.  And there’s the argument right?  If I wouldn’t want to do that then I shouldn’t eat meat.  But here’s my argument, people are paid to do that, it’s their lifestyle.  Sure we don’t have to eat as MUCH meat as we do now but we’re pretty accustomed to it.  I like eating meat.  I like the flavor and the texture.  I know that every time I eat meat that I take away an animal’s life, but I also know that just because I don’t eat that piece of chicken won’t bring that animal’s life back.  So if someone feels the need to kill their own food, good for you, but it’s not like I’ll forget where my food comes from.  I don’t need constant reminders.  I think that people should  be aware of the ethical treatment of animals but it doesn’t have to be that extreme.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

