Hungry Girl

Food Network is trying out a new program called Hungry Girl, I think they’re trying to gauge reactions.  Hungry Girl tries to make common food dishes into low calorie versions.  She has her own book that comes with little recipe cards.  I’m not sure if I’m a fan.  She did fine as a host of a show but that’s not where my worries come in.

I’m all for food that’s lower in calories, but there are some things about food that I’m not really willing to give up.  Like it being real food.  One of my main problems with the way she gives up calories is by using “Liquid Non-fat egg substitute”… What is that?  What is it made of?  What could possibly be advertised as an egg that’s not really an egg?  It bothers me.  It’s not real ingredients and I don’t really know what makes it “non fat.”  Eggs should have fat, that’s the way they’re made.  Use the egg white if you have to and ditch the yolk but why use an ingredient that is questionable.

So here’s what I say.  Eat in moderation.  Choose whole wheat when you can.  Eat lots of veggies (okay easier said than done).  Stop eating when you’re no longer hungry (which is different than stopping when you’re full).  And eat real food.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

