Shabu Shabu

I just went to Shabu Shabu for the first time.  Shabu Shabu is a type of Japanese dining (but has traces of origins in China,similar to a hot pot meal known as “shuan yang rou”), that allows you cook your own food in a hot pot.  It can be done in a group or by yourself.  You order your food; vegetables, raw meat, tofu, and rice or udon.  Then you wait for the hot pot in front of you to come to a boil and then you cook the food inside.  The hot pot is so hot and the meat is so thin it only takes about 30 seconds to cook it.

They set out a bunch of spices and sauces.  One of them they just called barbecue, but it was an Asian barbecue sauce.  In other words I’m still not sure what it is. Garlic, which I put in the soy sauce like thing they also put in front of me.  And some scallions and green onions, of which I both do not particularly like.  The only thing I really used was the garlic, but it was delicious.

When doing Shabu Shabu you have a good amount of control over your food but at the same time not.  Your waitress or waiter might control your heat but you control how long everything cooks.  It’s a weird teamwork cooking experience.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

