Cake Pops, take 2 and 3

So I’ve gotten requests to do the cake pops when I get home for our next family get together.  I’ve been practicing, two weeks ago I did yellow cake pops with buttercream (not chocolate) frosting.  This ended up being so much better because you could still see the yellow inside the pop.  Today (and well part of yesterday) I did funfetti cake pops with a chocolate and vanilla outside.  Some of them had a vanilla coating with a chocolate drizzle and some had a chocolate coating with a vanilla drizzle.  They look pretty fabulous.  I really need to work on drizzling.

Here’s a fun hint, I use a fan to blow air onto the cake pop so the coating dries faster, don’t-I repeat- don’t drizzle anything while the fan is on.  It just blows all over the place.  So then I had to clean the stove which was covered in lines of chocolate.

Anyway, I’ve gotten pretty good at making cake pops, my main downfall is that I’m impatient.  I want to move onto the next cake pop so I’ll put down the cake pop before it’s ready and it’ll become a flat top because of the pressure.  I think that I really need to learn how to be patient.

I was really worried about using funfetti cupcake.  I was worried that when I had to crumble it and I was worried that I’d lose all the colors in it.  But it didn’t really dissipate as much as I thought it would, you can still see it.  Not as much as I’d want but it’s still there!  So I’m glad, next time I’ll probably throw in extra sprinkles just for funsies.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

