Cake Pops

It’s my roommate Becca’s Birthday.  So I’m taking advantage of this momentous occasion by making a new sweet treat and I recently bought Bakerella’s book Cake Pops.  She tells you to start off by using cake mix, which you know I really don’t like to do.  But first off, Becca likes yellow cake and yellow cake from scratch takes about half the carton of eggs if not more and I figured for the first time I should at least follow the directions.

You bake the cake and wait for it to cool.  Once it’s cooled you cut the cake into pieces and rub them together to make crumbs (Or use a food processor if you have one!).  Then you mix in frosting into the crumbs, then you can form the balls.  The balls then have to go into the freezer for about 15 minutes or into the fridge for a couple hours.  Then I melted the pink candy wafers and dipped the balls (that I stuck a lollipop stick into) into the dip and waited for it to cool.  When I start getting the hang of this I’ll be using sprinkles.

However, I do have to say that you’re supposed to use light cake with light frosting.  But I used chocolate with yellow, so it made the insides brown.  But it still tastes good.  Next time I’ll get it right.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

