Strawberry Muffins

I guess I’m on a muffin kick but I made strawberry muffins today.  I don’t know about you but I’ve never had a strawberry muffin before so I’m pretty excited to try these.

So the recipe originally called for fresh strawberries but I used frozen.  When frozen strawberries thaw there’s excess juices.  The juices are so sweet and syrupy that the extra sugar poured on the strawberries (to make strawberry) juice is completely unnecessary.  In fact I washed my strawberries off because it called for the juice to go into the mixture and even then I only used 1/4 of a cup (I had an entire cup of juice).  It was so sweet already.

So basically next time I’m upping the juice to 1/2-2/3 c juice.  It’s a little bland but there’s Strawberry Guava jelly in every picture because it really makes the muffins less bland.  The muffin itself was kind of bland and the strawberries were very gooey at the bottom of the liner.  They were also kind of sour but with the jam it’s delicious.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups chopped frozen strawberries
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Directions

  1. When you’re using frozen strawberries, chances are there will be some syrupy liquid. Drain, reserving liquid and berries separately.
  2. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C). Grease a 12 cup muffin tin, or line with paper liners.
  3. In a medium bowl, cream together the butter and 1/4 cup sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Combine the flour, baking soda, salt and nutmeg; stir into the creamed mixture alternately with the juice from the berries. Gently stir in the berries. Spoon batter into the prepared muffin cups.
  4. Bake for 18 to 20 minutes in the preheated oven, or until the tops spring back when lightly touched. Cool in the pan on a wire rack.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

