Korean BBQ

So I’m back in Boston now but before I left Sashi and I hit up a Korean BBQ place called Soot Bull Jeep and let me just tell you it was amazing.

Most Korean Barbecue places in LA have converted to gas grills instead of wood.  The lack of wood takes away from the flavor added by the smoke to the meat.  But Soot Bull Jeep is now the only Korean barbecue place that has kept wood as a means to cook the food.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We ordered the Spare Ribs and sides of rice (seriously, a place that rice is not complimentary) but the ribs were well marinated.  Our waitress piled the ribs on the grill then spread them out.  I made sure that both sides were cooked well and every so often one of the waitresses would stop by to check the heat.  She also brought Kimchi, kimchi soup, garlic and other side dishes that I don’t really know what they were. The meat was tender and delicious.  We almost bought another plate but we did fine with just one plate of meat.

Luckily, we went to Soot Bull Jeep at 2 pm or so, there was no rush.  We were one of three groups there.  I could see how this place could easily become really busy really fast.  And smokey.  So if you have asthma or are sensitive to smoke, don’t go.  The wait for a table might take a little long especially since it depends on how long it takes you to cook your food and eat.  Soot Bull Jeep had great service and food.  The atmosphere is very minimalist but when you’re in the right company it’s not a big problem.  Some would even call it very authentic.  The prices were great as well, the spare ribs were the most expensive and it was $22.  Everything else was cheaper, so with a big group it could easily be a great satisfying meal.

About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

