Date Night

Hello Friends,

So I forgot to take pictures once again.  But I had a fantastic dinner last night of baked chicken tenders, hand cut fries, and oreo cheesecake cupcakes.  It was date night.  So you know I wanted to do something nice.  I think next time I’d like to make him some sort of steak.  The recipe I used from AllRecipes.com needs a lot of  tweaks. Some people used half sour cream and half ranch dressing to dredge the chicken.  It calls for way too much sour cream regardless.  I also needed to give it a stronger taste so I used more than needed Italian Spice.  Everything I’ve been doing has been to taste.  I also cooked them for less than the time given.

As for the french fries.  The potatoes I used were so big they were oddly shaped.  It was like having extra large french fries.  I ended up cutting them with a knife and fork while eating them.  The fries were garlic Parmesan fries. Unfortunately I skipped out on Parsley because I don’t have any.  I’m a big garlic fan so I used 2 cloves instead of one.  Then it says to shake the potatoes and olive oil in a bowl.  I used a bag.  I think that the trick to this would have been to let it sit longer because when I made this the garlic taste wasn’t very strong and I added garlic powder.  Then when finished I tossed it immediately with Parmesan.  For extremely good garlic parmesan fries go to Boston Burger Company in Davis Square.

oreo cheesecake

Lastly I made the oreo cheesecake first so that it could sit in the fridge.  I adapt this recipe by putting 6 or 7 oreos inside the batter.  You put an oreo for the crust.  And when it’s cold you drizzle chocolate on top.

Overall, I’d call this a pretty successful date night.

 

Baked Chicken

Ingredients

  • 6 skinless, boneless chicken breasts
  • 2 1 cup(s) sour cream (you’ll be using this to dredge the chicken so it’s not like you can use it again)
  • 2 cups crushed cornflakes cereal
  • 1 3 teaspoon(s) Italian-style seasoning
  • 6 4 tablespoons butter, melted
  • Garlic powder to taste

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. Rinse and trim the chicken breasts. Pat dry. Generously coat both sides of each breast with sour cream. Put crushed cornflake crumbs in a shallow plate or bowl and season to taste. Dip the sour cream coated chicken in the seasoned cornflake crumbs.
  3. Place coated chicken in a lightly greased 9×13 inch baking dish. Drizzle with melted butter/margarine and bake in the preheated oven for 1 hour 40-50 minutes.
Garlic Parmesan Oven Fries
recipe adapted from Tyler Florence
serves 3-4
2 large russet potatoes, scrubbed and dried
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1 2 garlic clove, minced
1/4 cup freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
2 tablespoons chopped fresh flat leaf parsleyPreheat the oven to 425.Cut the potatoes in half lengthwise. Then cut the halves lengthwise into fourths to make 16 big, fat wedges. 

Toss the potatoes with the olive oil, salt and minced garlic in a large bowl. Place the potatoes onto a metal baking sheet, spreading to a single layer.

Roast the potatoes for 30-35 minutes, until the potatoes are cooked through, brown, and crispy. Don’t shake or turn the fries around while they’re cooking. The longer they sit in contact with the metal baking sheet, the crisper they get.

Toss the fries in a big bowl with the cheese and parsley and serve hot.

Oreo Cheesecake Cupcakes
Ingredients

  • 2 (250 g) packages PHILADELPHIA Brick Cream Cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 12 OREO Cookies +6 or 7 oreos for the batter
  • 3 (1 ounce) squares BAKER’S Semi-Sweet Baking Chocolate
  • 1 cup thawed COOL WHIP Whipped Topping This would be overkill to me.

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Beat cream cheese and sugar in large bowl with mixer until well blended. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating on low speed after each just until blended. Beat in crushed oreos (or I crushed them using the mixer).
  3. Place 1 cookie in bottom of each of 12 paper-lined muffin cups. Fill with batter.
  4. Bake 20 minutes or until centres are almost set. Cool. Refrigerate 3 hours. Melt chocolate as directed on package; drizzle over cheesecakes. Top with COOL WHIP.
About akindafoodblog

I'm a picky foodie in training. I can't stop talking about food, so writing about it seems like a normal transition. There are so many foods I don't like, and that's a bit of a problem. I don't really know how to cook but I love to bake. So I'm on a culinary journey and I want to invite everyone to join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

